Koromatua Andy Foster
Mayor Andy Foster

Andy Foster is in his first term as Wellington Mayor after being appointed in the elections of October 2019.

About Mayor Andy Foster

Local body candidate Andy Foster.
Mayor Andy Foster

Prior to winning the 2019 election, Mayor Foster has served as a Wellington City councillor since 1992.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts in History and Economic History and Bachelor of Commerce in Business Management from Victoria University, as well as a post graduate Teaching Diploma. Andy’s early career included secondary teaching, finance and investment, and economic and environmental research. 

Mayor Foster is a Foundation Trustee and now Guardian of Karori Sanctuary (Zealandia). Mayor Foster has served on a range of Boards and is currently a Director of  Wellington International Airport Ltd. Mayor Foster is also President of TRAFINZ, which represents local authority views in New Zealand regarding road safety and traffic management.

Contact details

Phone 04 499 4444
Email mayor@wcc.govt.nz
Address PO Box 2199, Wellington, New Zealand

Mayoral requests

If you would like to request a meeting with the Mayor or have the Mayor attend an event, please fill out the forms below and send to mayoral.meetings@wcc.govt.nz.

Meeting request form

Event request form

Mayoral diary

View scheduled meetings held by Mayor Andy Foster relating to Council business recorded in the Mayor’s diary.

Note: The diary does not include unscheduled meetings, personal appointments that have been included in the diary for organisational purposes, travel logistics, time allocated for emails and general office work.

For more information contact mayor@wcc.govt.nz

Mayoral expenses

Committee membership

Committee Position
Te Kaunihera o Pōneke | Council Chair
Pūroro Tahua | Finance and Performance Committee Member
Pūroro Āmua | Planning and Environment Committee Member
Pūroro Waihanga | Infrastructure Committee Member Member
Pūroro Rangaranga | Social, Cultural and Economic Committee
Pūroro Maherehere | Annual Plan/Long -Term Plan Committee Deputy Chair
Pūroro Hātepe | Regulatory Process Committee Member
Ngutu Taki | CEO Performance Review Committee Member
Kāwai Whakatipu | Grants Subcommittee Member
Kāwai Māhirahira | Audit and Risk Subcommittee Member

External appointments

Joe Aspell Trust


Wellington International Airport Ltd


NZ international Arts Festival Trust


Thomas George Macarthy Trust


Guardians of the Sanctuary

Local Government New Zealand Zone 4 Presiding Delegate

Regional Transport Committee


Wellington Regional Strategy Committee


Wellington Regional Amenities Fund Joint Committee