Strategy & Policy Committee - disestablished

This committee was established for the 2019-2022 triennium.

A committee with similar delegations existed for the 2016-2019 triennium called the City Strategy Committee.

Archived meetings

View historical meetings in our archived meetings tool.

View meetings

Area of focus

The role of the Strategy and Policy Committee is to set the broad vision and direction of the city, determine specific outcomes that need to be met to deliver on that vision, and set in place the strategies and policies, bylaws and regulations, and work programmes to achieve those goals.

In determining and shaping the strategies, policies, regulations, and work programme of the Council, the Committee takes a holistic approach to ensure there is strong alignment between the objectives and work programmes of the seven strategic areas covered in the Long- term Plan (Governance, Environment, Economic Development, Cultural Wellbeing, Social and Recreation, Urban Development, and Transport) with particular focus on the priority areas of Council.

The Strategy and Policy Committee works closely with the Long-term and Annual Plan Committee to achieve its objective.


  • Mayor Andy Foster
  • Councillor Diane Calvert (Deputy Chair)
  • Councillor Jenny Condie
  • Councillor Jill Day (Chair)
  • Councillor Fleur Fitzsimons
  • Councillor Laurie Foon
  • Deputy Mayor Sarah Free
  • Councillor Rebecca Matthews
  • Councillor Teri O’Neill
  • Councillor Iona Pannett
  • Councillor Tamatha Paul
  • Councillor Sean Rush
  • Councillor Malcolm Sparrow
  • Councillor Simon Woolf
  • Councillor Nicola Young

Terms of Reference

Strategy and Policy Committee - Terms of Reference and Delegations - 2019/22 (519KB PDF)

Contact us

Democracy Services