Our Executive Leadership team

The Council's Executive Leadership team.

Portrait of Chief Executive Officer, Barbara McKerrow.

Barbara McKerrow

Barbara McKerrow, Chief Executive Officer

Email: barbara.mckerrow@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Linda Vekula
Phone: 04 499 4444


Sara Hay

Sara Hay, Chief Financial Officer

Email: sara.hay@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Judy Harte
Phone: 04 499 4444

Financial Strategy and Planning. Financial Accounting and Transactional Services, Business Reporting Analysis, Commercial Partnerships


Stephen McArthur

Stephen McArthur, Chief Strategy & Governance Officer

Email: stephen.mcarthur@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Justin Dahm
Phone: 04 499 4444

Strategy, Policy and Research, Communications and Engagement, Mayor’s Office, Democracy Services, Risk and Assurance, Legal, International Relations


Portrait of Meredith Blackler.

Meredith Blackler

Meredith Blackler, Chief People & Culture Officer

Email: meredith.blackler@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Helen Adams
Phone: 04 499 4444

Human Resources Services, Organisational Development, Safety Security and Wellbeing


James Roberts

James Roberts

James Roberts, Chief Digital Officer

Email: james.roberts@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Ashlea Hale
Phone: 04 499 4444

Business Operations, Digital Services, Enterprise Architecture, Customer Services, Information Centre, Infrastructure & Operations, Service Design & Change.


Claire Richardson, Chief Operating Officer.

Claire Richardson

Claire Richardson, Chief Operating Officer

Email: claire.richardson@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Catherine Chapman
Phone: 04 499 4444

Arts Culture and Community Services, City Arts and Events, City Housing, Community Networks, Community Services, Customer and Community, Parking, Parks Sport and Recreation, Economic & Commercial


Portrait of Liam Hodgetts.

Liam Hodgetts

Liam Hodgetts, Chief Planning Officer

Email: liam.hodgetts@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Betsie Lotter
Phone: 04 499 4444

Consenting & Compliance, City Design & Place Planning, Sustainability, Building Wellington, LGWM


Portrait of Tom Williams

Tom Williams

Tom Williams, Chief Infrastructure Officer

Email: tom.williams@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: Betsie Lotter
Phone: 04 499 4444

Transport & Infrastructure, Resilience, Property Services, Strategic Asset Management


Karepa Wall

Karepa Wall, Head of Māori Strategic Relationships

Email: karepa.wall@wcc.govt.nz
Phone: 04 499 4444

Tira Poutama-Iwi Partnerships