Kōrau Mātinitini
Social, Cultural, and Economic Committee


View this month's meetings

View calendar

A committee with similar delegations existed for the 2019-2022 triennium called the Strategy and Policy Committee.

Area of focus

  • Māori strategic outcomes
  • Arts, culture, and community services
  • Wellington City social housing
  • Council’s city events
  • Parking services
  • Parks, sport and recreation
  • Community resilience
  • Economic development.


  • Councillor Teri O’Neill (Chair)
  • Councillor Nureddin Abdurahman (Deputy Chair)
  • Mayor Tory Whanau
  • Deputy Mayor Laurie Foon
  • Councillor John Apanowicz
  • Councillor Tim Brown
  • Councillor Diane Calvert
  • Councillor Ray Chung 
  • Councillor Sarah Free 
  • Councillor Rebecca Matthews 
  • Councillor Ben McNulty 
  • Councillor Iona Pannett 
  • Councillor Tamatha Paul
  • Councillor Tony Randle
  • Councillor Nīkau Wi Neera
  • Councillor Nicola Young
  • Pouiwi Holden Hohaia, Tākai Here representative 
  • Pouiwi Liz Kelly, Tākai Here representative 

Terms of Reference

Social, Cultural and Economic Committee Terms of Reference and Delegations 2022-2025 (198KB PDF)

Contact us

Democracy Services

Phone: 021 223 2931

Email: democracy.services@wcc.govt.nz