About the Forum

The Wellington Region Mayoral Forum includes the Chair of the Greater Wellington Regional Council and the mayors of Wellington region's eight territorial local authorities.

The local authorities involved are:

  • Carterton District Council
  • Hutt City Council
  • Kapiti Coast District Council
  • Masterton District Council
  • Porirua City Council
  • South Wairarapa District Council
  • Upper Hutt City Council
  • Wellington City Council

The Mayoral Forum is chaired by Upper Hutt City Council Mayor Wayne Guppy. It meets on a regular basis to discuss matters of regional concern and interest.

The Wellington Regional Amenities Review and Wellington Regional Governance Review are two Mayoral Forum projects the councils of the Wellington region have agreed to work on. Other priorities for the region include:

  • transport
  • urban growth
  • infrastructure
  • economic development
  • shared services
  • climate change
  • biodiversity
  • emergency management.