Wellington City wards

Wellington City is divided into wards. Each ward elects Councillors, who represent the interests of the city as a whole.

Representation review 

For electoral purposes, Wellington City is divided into 5 wards. They serve the same function as electorates for Parliamentary elections. 

Wards and local boards must comply with the requirements for effective representation of communities of interest and fair representation. 

Under the Local Electoral Act 2001 (the Act) local authorities must review their electoral arrangements at least every six years. Wellington City Council (Council) last reviewed its arrangements in 2012 for the 2013 elections, with a minor change to the Tawa Community Board boundary in 2015. This means we were due another review before the 2019 elections.  

Last April we sought your views on the proposal to make changes to Wellington's ward boundaries and to make ward names bilingual. 

Ensuring a balanced population between the wards is essential to provide fair representation to all residents of Wellington City. These changes align ward boundaries more closely with geographic and suburb boundaries. 

Inclusion of Te Reo names is an important first step in realising the Council’s new Te Reo Maori policy, and a significant move towards becoming a bilingual city. The submissions were considered by the Council and a final decision made by the Local Government Commission.  

So what’s changing?

  • The number of councillors will stay the same – 14 plus the mayor 
  • If you live in Brooklyn and were under the Lambton Ward, you will now be under the Paekawakawa/Southern ward like the rest of Brooklyn.
  • Parts of Brooklyn and Ohariu suburbs included in the Southern and Northern ward will no longer be part of the Makara-Ohariu Community board.

And we’ve got new Te Reo Names, which represent Wellington’s history and recognise a prominent feature within their relevant wards.

The proposed names are:

  • Pukehīnau/Lambton Ward
  • Motukairangi/Eastern Ward
  • Paekawakawa/Southern Ward
  • Wharangi/Onslow-Western Ward
  • Takapū/Northern Ward