Electoral systems

Wellington City Council uses the Single Transferable Vote (STV) electoral system to elect its Mayor, Councillors and community board members.

The Council has used this system since 2004 when it first became an option for local authorities.

In August 2020 the Council agreed to retain STV for the 2022 council election.

You can read more about how STV works on the Single Transferable Vote website

Where STV is used

In New Zealand, fifteen local authorities use the STV system for electing their mayor and councillors.

Before the 2004 local authority elections, Wellington City Council (and all other local authorities) used the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. The majority of local authorities throughout the country still use the FPP system.

The Greater Wellington Regional Council is also the only regional council to use STV and has used it since the 2013 election.

How STV works

STV is a proportional electoral system where electors rank candidates in order of preference. Electors have a single vote (regardless of the number of vacancies) and they have to cast that vote by ranking, in their order of preference, as few or as many of the candidates as they wish.

You can read more about how STV works on the Single Transferable Vote website

2008 Referendum

A poll of electors in September 2008 determined that the STV electoral system would continue to be used to elect members of the Wellington City Council until at least the 2013 elections.

Need help?

Deputy Electoral Officer 
Phone: 04 499 4444 
Email: election@wcc.govt.nz