Koromatua Tuarua Sarah Free
Deputy Mayor Sarah Free

Motukairangi/Eastern Ward

Councillor Sarah Free.
Sarah Free

Contact details

Email: sarah.free@wcc.govt.nz
Executive assistant: tiumalu.sialava'a@wcc.govt.nz

Sarah was first elected as a Motukairangi/Eastern Ward councillor in 2013, before being appointed deputy mayor in 2019.

Sarah brings a wealth of experience to the Council table, having held portfolios in walking, cycling and public transport infrastructure, chairing the Council's Grants Subcommittee and serving as a trustee on the Wellington Zoo board. In her first triennium, she held the library and community facilities portfolio, and oversaw the early planning for the Waitohi Johnsonville Library.

Sarah holds a Bachelor of Engineering and a Master's Degree in Public Health (with distinction). In her early career, Sarah worked for the New Zealand Electricity Department on a number of substation and transmission line upgrades. She is also a trained teacher and taught mathematics, science, and senior physics at Wellington Girls' College and St Catherine's College.

Sarah stood for election as a Green Party candidate and campaigned on issues including cycling and walking opportunities, public transport improvements, and infrastructure resilience across Wellington.

In her spare time, Sarah enjoys Scottish country dancing, gardening, outdoor adventures, and spending time with her husband Ross, their three adult children, and extended families.

Committee membership

Te Kaunihera o Pōneke | Council
Deputy Chair
 Pūroro Tahua | Finance and Performance Committee
Pūroro Āmua | Planning and Environment Committee Member
Pūroro Waihanga | Infrastructure Committee Member
Pūroro Rangaranga | Social, Cultural and Economic Committee Member
Pūroro Maherehere | Annual Plan/Long-Term Plan Committee Member
Pūroro Hātepe | Regulatory Process Committee Member
Ngutu Taki | CEO Performance Review Committee Deputy Chair

External appointments

Local Government New Zealand Zone 4


Regional Transport Committee


Wellington Regional Strategy Committee