Masons Screen

Masons Screen is an outdoor 24-hour public screen for artists' videos.

Supported by Wellington City Council and programmed by CIRCUIT Artist Film and Video Aotearoa New Zealand, Masons Screen presents a new artist’s work each month.

The screen is located on Masons Lane – a pedestrian walkway between The Terrace and Lambton Quay.

Call for proposals

A call for new works is issued via CIRCUIT and Wellington City Council. Works must be made by a Wellington-based or affiliated artist, or as part of a project in the Wellington region.

To keep up to date with deadlines, subscribe to our monthly City Arts Panui e-newsletter.

Capture from Across the face of the moon video by Rangituhia Hollis.

Across the face of the moon (2019) by Rangituhia Hollis


Current video

Across the face of the moon (2019)

Artist: Rangituhia Hollis
Dates: 12 December 2019 - 15 January 2020
Digital video, sound.

"I look up to the moon, and I say inside myself "I used to be afraid of you". Now I see your beauty up there. I feel your light carry my eyes across the stars. You're directing me home."

Across the face of the moon is the second of three commissions for Masons Screen in 2019. Rangituhia Hollis (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu) is an artist, writer and educator.

One who goes quickly (2019) Fleury and Jackson.


Upcoming video

One who goes quickly (2019)

Artists: Max Fleury and Bena Jackson
Dates: 16 January 2020 - 12 February 2020
Digital video, sound, 5 minutes.

Visiting various sites with an E-Scooter, lemons, some sauce, and a woollen jumper, Max Fleury and Bena Jackson try to understand not only the formal beauty of E-Scooters but their essence.

Past projects

  • Rachel O'Neill, Not My Autobiography? (2019)
  • Jamie Berry, Pikihuia Haenga and Leala Faleseuga, Breaking the Glass Ceiling (2018) 
  • Florence Wild, Cast Movements: Leitmotif (2017)
  • Layne Waerea, Maori Lane: Oct 08, 2012 (2012)
  • Ziggy Lever, Beam Splitting (2017)
  • Cinton Watkins, Feedback (2010)
  • Judy Darragh, Tunnel of Love (2003)
  • Kate Walker, Cloudship (2018)
  • Bent, Art for no-one (2014)
  • John Chrisstoffels, Ritornello (2018)
  • Miranda Bellamy, Drip, release, in complete memory (2018)
  • Talia Smith, The light between two points (2018)
  • Martin Rumsby, Sojourns (2018)
  • Dilohana Lekamge, Pilot - Gilmore Girls: Season 1, Episode 1 (2018)
  • Elizabeth Pointon, A Guide To: Effective Implementation of Self-Service (2017)
  • Aydriannah Tuiali’i (Ngā Puhi/Ngāti Hāmoa),Kōwhai (2017)
  • Sam Hamilton, More of less Rubbish (2017)
  • Sandy Gibbs, Lighting an old Flame (2017)
  • Mark Harvey, Let's Go! (2017)
  • Claire Harris, Beseated (2017)
  • Christina Read, The Brain My Brain (2017)
  • Lara Lindsay-Parker, Sad @ the beach (2017)
  • Matilda Fraser, The Eight Hours Plan (2017)
  • Guillaume Cailleau, Funktionslust (2017)
  • Anna Iti, All the way to Te Rerenga Wairua (2017)
  • Sriwhana Spong, Learning Duets (2012) / Beach Study (2012)
  • Melissa Irving, being-(t)here (2012)
  • Robyn Jordaan, The Present Continuous (2016)
  • Mike Ting, Kind of Blue (2016)
  • Sam Norton, Untitled 3 (2015)
  • Aliyah Winter, Eli Jenkins Prayer (2015)
  • Hugh Chesterman, i am who i am (who am i?) (2016)
  • Chris Ulutupu, Ladies (2016)
  • Kate Woods, Water Feature (2016)
  • Mike Heynes, Location!… location? (2016)
  • Sarah Jane Parton, The Best Trick (Everyone Smiles at Hotel Smile) (2016)
  • Bridget Reweti, Mana Tū, Mana Toa, Mana Ake Ake (2015)
  • Gabrielle Amodeo, Slow and mournfully; slow and sad; slow and solemnly (2013)
  • Caroline Johnston, Songs about PLEASE REMOVE (2014)
  • Heather Hayward, Les Mills Gym (2014)
  • Erica Sklenars, Popsicle (2011)
  • Jordana Bragg, How to water the roses (3) (2015)
  • Laura Duffy, Food fat insanity (2015)
  • Terry Urbahn, Don't Die Until Later (2013)
  • Denise Batchelor, Stranded (2015)

More information

Meredith Robertshawe, Senior Arts Advisor

Phone 021 227 8207