Three Waters Reform Programme

Our city is facing multiple challenges and opportunities in the way we manage the three waters.

The Government has put forward legislation for New Zealand’s three water services – drinking water, wastewater and stormwater – to be managed by four new publicly owned water entities, replacing the services currently managed by 67 councils.

These new services will be available to New Zealanders from July 2024 onward.

Minister's statement of the changes are available on the Beehive website

Refreshed Three Waters website

The Three Waters website is now live. The intention is for this website to be developed further to become a central hub for information on the Three Waters reform and transition, and to also facilitate engagement by Councils and other stakeholders with Three Waters transition activity. 

Water Services Entities Bill

The Bill sets out the ownership, governance, accountability arrangements relating to these entities and includes essential provisions for ongoing public ownership and engagement, and safeguards against future privatisation.

The Bill also provides for transitional arrangements relating to the establishment and governance of the new entities, strategic direction, planning and reporting, employment, and the oversight powers of the Department of Internal Affairs during establishment.

Read the Water Services Entities Bill

See our submission on the Water Services Entities Bill (467KB PDF)