Sister cities

Sister cities have established direct friendly relations to strengthen mutual understanding, cooperation and ties.

Wellington has five sister city relationships:

  • Beijing, People's Republic of China
  • Sakai, Japan
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Xiamen, People's Republic of China
  • Canberra, Australia

A sister city relationship is a formal, long-term relationship based on diverse linkages between the two cities - including cultural, educational and business links. The relationship requires a high degree of commitment on both sides, as well as the active involvement of a community committee.