News | 18 February 2022
Share on social

Joint statement by Wellington community leaders on protest

We the undersigned ask that the current illegal protest activities in and around the Parliament precinct end immediately. There is a right to peaceful protest in New Zealand that it is important to uphold. However this protest has gone well beyond that point.

Central city and inner harbour viewed from Mt Victoria.

Those who live, work and go to school and university have been subjected to significant levels of abuse and harassment when attempting to move about in the area. There has been intimidation to Wellingtonians and city workers, and some residents have reported being too frightened or distressed to leave their homes.

The vehicles associated with the protest are illegally blocking roads that are preventing Wellingtonians moving freely, including using public transport, posing a risk to the movement of emergency services, and are severely disrupting businesses. A number of businesses have had to close to protect their staff, while for others, customers cannot access these businesses. The University has needed to close its Pipitea campus disrupting teaching and learning.

Police have issued trespass notices for those on Parliamentary and University grounds. We remind the protestors this city and these streets are those of Wellingtonians who have the right to access them freely and without fear. 

The people of Wellington have had enough of this illegal activity, harassment and disruption, we ask that it end immediately.

Alex Beijen – South Wairarapa Mayor
Andy Foster - Wellington City Mayor 
Anita Baker – Porirua City Mayor
Barbara McKerrow - Wellington City Council CEO 
Bernadette Murfitt – Principal Sacred Heart School Thorndon
Campbell Barry – Hutt City Mayor
Daran Ponter – on behalf of Metlink and the Greater Wellington Regional Council 
Fleur Fitzsimons - Wellington City Councillor 
Grant Guildford – Vice-Chancellor Victoria University of Wellington
Grant Robertson – MP for Wellington Central
Greg Lang – Carterton District Mayor
James Shaw – List MP based in Wellington
Jenny Condie - Wellington City Councillor 
Jill Day - Wellington City Councillor
John Allen – CEO Wellington NZ
Julia Davidson – Principal Wellington Girls College 
K. Gurunathan – Kapiti District Mayor
Kerry Davies – Secretary of Public Service Association 
Laurie Foon - Wellington City Councillor 
Lyn Patterson – Masterton District Mayor
Murray Edridge – Wellington City Missioner
Nicola Willis – List MP based in Wellington
Nicola Young - Wellington City Councillor 
Paul Retimanu – Director of Manaaki Management and board member of Hospitality New Zealand
Rebecca Matthews - Wellington City Councillor 
Sarah Free - Wellington City Deputy Mayor 
Simon Arcus - Wellington Chamber of Commerce CEO 
Tamatha Paul - Wellington City Councillor 
Teri O’Neill - Wellington City Councillor 
Wayne Guppy – Upper Hutt City Mayor