News | 10 May 2021
Share on social

Council community spaces named architectural winners

Two of Wellington City Council’s newest facilities won their categories in the 2021 New Zealand Institute of Architects Awards in the capital last week.

Photograph of the Waitohi Johnsonville Community Hub facade with seats and a bicycle in the courtyard.
Waitohi Community Hub and Johnsonville Library won the Interior Architecture category

The Waitohi Community Hub and Johnsonville Library won the Interior Architecture category. Waitohi was designed by Athfield Architects which involved a high level of engagement with mana whenua, staff, and the wider community.

Waitohi connects the Common Ground Café, Johnsonville Library, Johnsonville Community Centre, Waitohi Kindergarten and Keith Spry Pool to create a vibrant community hub that continues to grow in popularity. Its design and commissioned artworks have brought to life the stories of Johnsonville’s natural environment, history and communities.

Te Awe Library (meaning white feathers or plumes) in Brandon and Panama Streets took out the Public Architecture category. Te Awe is one of three pop-up library branches in Wellington’s CBD. They were set up so people could continue using library services, collections, and spaces in the city until the Central Library is remediated.

Herriot Melhuish O'Neill Architects led the design for Te Awe, which has a strong focus on young people and whānau, with a mix of vibrant spaces that create a warm, welcoming oasis in the city for people to enjoy.

This is also reflected by fantastic feature walls designed by students from Clyde Quay and Kelburn Normal Schools with the Council’s Creative and Brand team.

The children created patterns after interpreting words and ideas around birds and nature, which the Creative and Brand team then based the design on.