Regulatory Processes Committee

View calendar

When is the next meeting?

View calendar

Area of focus

The Regulatory Processes Committee has responsibility for overseeing the Council’s regulatory functions.




  • Mayor Celia Wade-Brown
  • Cr Andy Foster
  • Cr David Lee
  • Cr Iona Pannett
  • Cr Malcolm Sparrow

Quorum: 3 members

Terms of reference (delegations)

The Regulatory Processes Committee will have responsibility for: 

  • Resource Management Act (RMA) Commissioners - approve list and appointment guidelines
  • dog objections and fencing of swimming pools
  • road stopping
  • temporary road closures
  • liquor ban bylaw appeals
  • development contribution remissions.

The Regulatory Processes Committee will have responsibility and authority to:

  1. approve Council's list of hearings commissioners under the Resource Management Act 1991 (comprising Councillors sitting as hearings commissioners and independent commissioners) and the Council's guidelines for composition of hearings panels
  2. conduct statutory hearings on regulatory matters and undertake and make decisions on those hearings (excluding Resource Management Act 1991)
  3. undertake hearings on road stopping under the Local Government Act 1974
  4. make recommendations to Council whether to proceed with a road stopping and the disposal of stopped road; including (where the proposal includes or involves a related acquisition, disposal or land exchange) a recommendation to Council on the acquisition, disposal or exchange
  5. consider and recommend to Council any request to the Crown that a road is stopped under section 116 of the Public Works Act 1981, and the disposal of the stopped road
  6. hear appeals on officer’s decisions to decline permission for an activity that would breach the Wellington Consolidated Bylaw 2008 Part 4 Liquor Control
  7. make any resolution required under section 319A of the Local Government Act 1974 (naming of roads)
  8. make decisions under Clause 11(e), Schedule 10 of the Local Government Act 1974 and the Transport (Vehicular Traffic Road Closure) Regulations 1965
  9. make decisions on applications required under the Development Contribution Policy for remission or postponement
  10. approve Commissioners and list members under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

Full Terms of Reference and Delegations 2013/16 (1.8MB PDF) l Text version (123KB RTF)

Frequency of meetings

6 weekly