The local authority elections are held every 3 years, and give you the chance to vote for the Mayor and Council, Community boards, The District health Board and the Greater Wellington Regional Council.

Tawa Community Board 2017 by-election

Nominations for the Tawa Community Board have now closed.

Voting will open on Thursday 26 January 2017 and will close at 12 noon on Friday 17 February.

Electoral systems

Wellington City Council uses the STV (Single Transferable Vote) electoral system to elect its mayor,...

    Representation review

    Under the Local Electoral Act 2001, all local authorities have to review their representation arrang...

      Wellington City wards

      For electoral purposes, Wellington city is divided into wards.