Tuia (Rangatahi) Mentorships

Under the Local Government New Zealand – Mayors’ Taskforce for Jobs, Tuia is a mentoring programme supporting young Māori to develop leadership skills and contribute to their communities.

2023 recipient Tiana Jakicevich pictured alongside Mayor Whanau

The programme pairs rangatahi (young people) with a mayor and/or deputy mayor, who meets with and mentors them on a one-on-one basis for the year.

The rangatahi contributes 100 hours to a community project in their rohe (area) and is supported to attend five wananga (workshops) around the whenua (country), in order to build networks with the other Tuia rangatahi, obtain support and meet a range of people.

Rangatahi are selected by the mayor and deputy mayor of each council and the mentoring relationship is reciprocal, with the rangatahi having the opportunity to share their world and life experiences.

The programme aligns with the word Tuia, which means to weave.

When people are woven together their contribution has a greater positive impact in the community.

Since 2011, Wellington City Council has mentored 15 rangatahi.

How to apply

To apply to be a Tuia recipient for next year, please email by November 30 with some information about you and why you would like to be considered for the programme.

2023 recipient

Tiana Jakicevich (Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa, Te Whakatōhea, Ngāti Tarara) is a young Māori Croatian woman hailing from the east coast of Aotearoa. She has called Wellington home for the past seven years, whilst completing her undergraduate degrees at Te Herenga Waka. She is an active member of the student community having served tauira māori as a part of ngā rangahautira and all tauira as the student representative on university council.

Tiana is passionate about safeguarding the natural environment and the restoration whakapapa for the regeneration of papatūanuku for future generations to come.

She is actively involved in rangatahi climate justice kaupapa in Aotearoa, facilitating wananga for rangatahi around the motu, and internationally having represented her iwi and Aotearoa at the United Nations climate talks and permanent forums advocating for the rights of indigenous peoples.

Previous recipients

  • Annalese Hume-Kinzett (2022)
  • Mana Hokianga and Pania Rei (2021)
  • Peta Tangiwai and Kirihika Stewart (2020)
  • Tamatha Paul and Miriama Te One (2019)
  • Karen Leef and Harley Hepetema (2018)
  • Trinity Thomson Browne (2017)
  • Jack Fletcher (2016)
  • Maia Huriwaka (2015)
  • Tuparahuia Pita (2014)
  • Rawinia Thompson (2013)
  • Alex Taniwha (2012)
  • Parehinetai Stewart (2011)

More information

For more information download the 2023 Tuia Prospectus (13MB PDF)