Further notice of 2023 Tawa Community Board by-election

Status Closed
Start date 23 June 2023
Closed date 18 August 2023


Nominations to fill the extraordinary vacancy for the Tawa Community Board have been received from Liz Langham and Cyrus Ranchhod.

As nominations have now closed and the number of nominations exceed the number of vacancies, a voting process is required and will be conducted by postal voting using the Single Transferable Voting (STV) electoral system. Voting will open on Thursday 27 July and close at 12 noon on Friday 18 August 2023. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers

Enrolment and special voting arrangements

Residential electors within the Tawa Community Board area who are not listed on the final electoral roll for this by-election can enrol or amend their enrolment details on the electoral roll on or before Thursday 17 August 2023:

  • Online at www.vote.nz 
  • By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you 
  • By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you 
  • By email request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz

Tawa Community Board ratepayers who live outside the Tawa Community Board area and who are not listed on the final electoral roll for this by-election can enrol on or before 5pm Thursday 17 August 2023 by completing and returning a non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form (88KB PDF), which is also available from Wellington City Council offices.

Special voting facilities for the by-election will be available from the Mervyn Kemp (Tawa) Library, 158 Main Road, Tawa, or the Wellington City Council office, Level 16, 113 The Terrace, Wellington during normal office hours between Thursday 27 July and 12 noon on Friday 18 August 2023.

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer – Wellington City Council
Wellington City Council, 113 The Terrace, Wellington
0800 666 048