Bee Aware Month

Bees make up a critical part of Wellington’s ecosystem. We’re doing our part in Te Whanganui-a-Tara to protect these vital pollinators.

Bee a hero for the bees this month 1 - 30 September Bee Aware Month

Did you know that in New Zealand there are 28 species of native bees and 13 species of introduced bees? They play an important role in pollination, providing us beautiful plants to enjoy and delicious kai to eat.

Every September, Wellington City Council and Apiculture NZ (ApiNZ) invite the whole community to get involved and help raise awareness about the importance of bees for our economy, environment and food production systems.

Get involved in Bee Aware Month

1-30 September 2022

This year’s theme is Bee Curious, where we can connect and learn about bees and what we can do to look after them. Whether it be through beekeeper Q&A, exhibitions, or honey workshops, we invite you to join us and learn how we can all contribute to a bright Bee future.

Events:

Saturday 3 September: Te Whare Ako o Akoranga Rangi Tūwhera | Akoranga Learning Pavilion Open Day

Monday 5 September: Busy Bee Preschool Storytime (Kilbirnie)

Wednesday 7 September: Let’s go Lego – save the bees!

Saturday 10 September: Sunflowers for City Housing honeybees – seed germination workshop

Monday 12 September: Busy Bee Preschool Storytime (Tawa)

Tuesday 13 September: Busy Bee Preschool Storytime (Johnsonville)

Friday 16 September: Let’s go Lego – save the bees!

Tuesday 20 September: Busy Bee Preschool Storytime (Karori)

Saturday 24 September: Propagation 101: Growing healthy seedlings from seed for people and pollinators

Saturday 24 September: Come and see the bees and learn about their lives

Saturday 24 September: Let’s go Lego – save the bees!

Wednesday 28 September: Bee Aware Seed and Seedling Swap

Wednesday 28 September: Busy Bee Preschool Storytime (Wellington City)

Friday 30 September: Bee Aware Month Community Dinner

Saturday 1 October: Sunflowers for City Housing honeybees – planting day

If you’re itching for more ways to support bees outside of Bee Aware Month, here are a few resources to get you started:

Contact us

Please contact citycommunities@wcc.govt.nz if you would like more information or to get involved.