COMMITTEE STRUCTURE, CHAIRPERSONS AND MEMBERSHIP

Purpose

1. The purpose of the report is to provide the elected members with a memorandum on the 2019-2020 committee structure, chairpersons and membership.

Summary

- 2. Section 41A of the Local Government Act 2002 provides for the Mayor to establish the committees of the territorial authority and appoint chairpersons to those committees.
- 3. Mayor Andy Foster has developed a committee structure in discussion with councillors. A memorandum on the committee structure, appointment of chairpersons and membership is attached.

Recommendation

That the Council:

1. Receive the memorandum on committee structure, chairpersons and membership.

Attachments

Attachment 1. Committee Structure, Chairpersons and Membership

Author	Cyrus Frear, Senior Democracy Advisor
Authoriser	Anusha Guler, Head of Governance

Item 1.10 Page 1

Memorandum

Absolutely Positively **Wellington** City Council Me Heke Ki Pöneke

Date: 29 October 2019 File ref:

To: The Council

From: His Worship the Mayor

Subject: Committee Structure, Chairpersons and Membership

This memorandum provides a broad overview of the governance and decision-making structures for the Wellington City Council for the 2019 – 2022 triennium. The structure is designed to be inclusive at both political and community level and facilitates quality decision making.

Committees of Council

Committee	Chairperson	Membership
Strategy and Policy Committee	Cr Jill Day Deputy Chair: Cr Diane Calvert	Mayor and all councillors
Annual Plan/Long Term Plan Committee	Deputy Mayor Sarah Free Deputy Chair: Mayor Andy Foster	Mayor and all councillors
Regulatory Process Committee	Cr Malcolm Sparrow	Deputy Mayor Sarah Free Cr Jill Day Cr Teri O'Neill Cr Simon Woolf Cr Rebecca Matthews
CEO Performance Review Committee	Cr Diane Calvert	Deputy Mayor Sarah Free Cr Jill Day Cr Fleur Fitzsimons Cr Nicola Young

Subcommittees reporting to Strategy and Policy Committee

Subcommittee	Chairperson	Membership
Grants	Cr Fleur Fitzsimons	Cr Rebecca Matthews
		Cr Laurie Foon
		Cr Tamatha Paul
		Cr Iona Pannett
		Cr Malcolm Sparrow
Finance, Audit and Risk	Cr Diane Calvert	Cr Sean Rush
	Deputy Chair: Cr Jenny Condie	Cr Tamatha Paul
		Cr Iona Pannett
		Plus 2 external appointments
Council-Controlled Organisations	Cr Jenny Condie	Cr Simon Woolf
		Cr Nicola Young
		Cr Laurie Foon
		Cr Sean Rush
		Cr Teri O' Neill

The Mayor is a member of every committee and subcommittee of the territorial authority.

The governance and decision making structure takes the following key principles into consideration:

- Inclusiveness of councillors
- · Efficiency of decision making
- Strategic/integrated decisions
- Informed decision making
- Public participation
- Openness
- Transparency
- Accountability
- Governance

Delegations

The formal terms of reference and delegations on which the structure will be based will be considered at a future meeting of Council.

Andy Foster

Mayor of Wellington