Councillor Payback a Boost for Capital's Communities and Smart Energy

20 November 2013

Wellington’s smart energy and community projects will receive a boost of $65,000 following a decision from the Capital’s councillors to pay any money received for external board appointments to Council.

Mayor Celia Wade-Brown announced today that her $46,000 director fee for Wellington International Airport Ltd would be allocated toward Wellington’s Smart Energy Capital matching fund, and the $19,000 Wellington Regional Stadium Trust fee for Councillor Eagle would be allocated toward the City Council’s Social and Recreation Fund.

The extra money is in addition to the $132,200 that stays within ratepayer-owned organisations, following the decision made last triennium to halt payments to elected members appointed to the boards of council organisations.

The Mayor said the combined benefits for ratepayers and community initiatives from these decisions would total $197,200.

"In the past, money from board positions went directly to councillors who are already paid for their roles on Council," said Mayor Wade-Brown.

"Councillors are appointed as council representatives, we are already paid through our salaries, so we’ve transformed the double-up into a win for our communities.

"I’m proposing that the Airport board payment that I was to receive be allocated toward Wellington’s Smart Energy Capital initiatives

"Smart Energy Capital primarily focuses on smart, healthy homes; solar and other forms of renewable energy; and smart grid, demand management and innovation," she said. "This programme has great potential to further Wellington’s development as a Smart Capital."

The appointments to the boards of Council Controlled Organisations are:

  • Wellington International Airport Ltd: Mayor Celia Wade-Brown.
  • Wellington Regional Stadium Trust and Basin Reserve Trust: Cr Paul Eagle
  • Capacity Infrastructure Services Limited: Cr Sarah Free
  • Hutt Minoh House Friendship Trust: Cr Simon Marsh
  • Joe Aspell Trust: Crs Ray Ahipene-Mercer, Mark Peck, Simon Woolf
  • Positively Wellington Tourism and Positively Wellington Venues Limited: Cr Woolf
  • Wellington Waterfront Limited: Cr Justin Lester
  • Wellington Museums Trust: Cr Nicola Young
  • Wellington Zoo Trust: Cr Marsh