Stand for Election

13 July 2010

Do you want to make a difference to your community? Then this year's Wellington City Council elections in October are your chance to give local politics a go and have a say about how the city you love is run.

Young voter in Civic Square with sign 'Come on, candidates, Stand'

Young voter in Civic Square with sign 'Come on, candidates, Stand'

If you're interested in standing but are not quite sure about what's involved, we can help. Next week we're holding two candidate workshops for anyone who wants to get a feel for what it's like to be a City Councillor, and is looking for more information about the role of the City Council.

Several Wellington City Councillors will speak about their job and what it involves. There'll also be a chance to find out what the Council does and the rules around standing for election and campaigning.

"The workshops are a great chance for anyone who is thinking about standing but wants to know more about what it really means to be a Councillor," says Electoral Officer Ross Bly. "Being a Councillor is a great way of working with and for the local community, but it's a good idea to know what it's all about before you put your name forward."

Nominations for candidates wanting to stand in this year's local authority elections open on Friday 23 July and close at 12 noon on Friday 20 August. A range of elected members of different ages, ethnicities and backgrounds are needed to represent our diverse community. The positions you can stand for are Wellington City Council Mayor or Councillor or Tawa or Makara-Ohariu Community Board member.

To be eligible to stand, prospective candidates must be New Zealand citizens, over 18 years of age and on the electoral roll. You do not need to live in the area in which you wish to stand, however two people who are enrolled in the district or ward you wish to stand in must nominate you. A candidate cannot nominate themselves. A deposit fee of $200 is payable for each position you wish to contest.

The workshops will be held at our offices at Committee Room 1, ground floor, 101 Wakefield Street at 6.00pm - 7.30pm on Monday 19 July and 12 noon - 1.30pm on Tuesday 20 July.

Voting will be conducted by postal vote, and papers will be sent out on 17 September.