Final Call for Tawa By-election Votes

19 November 2009

Tawa residents have less than three days to get their votes in for the Tawa Community Board By-election but from here on out they should deliver their voting papers by hand rather than post them - otherwise they'll risk not having them count.

All Tawa voters should have received their voting papers in the mail for the by-election - which is being held this Saturday 21 November to fill one vacancy on the Community Board.

The Council's Electoral Officer, Ross Bly, says that rather than post their voting papers back, people should now deliver them by hand. "By now people would be cutting it a bit fine to return their voting papers by mail - but they can still drop them off at Mervyn Kemp Library during normal business hours and until 12 noon on Saturday."

A polling booth for special votes will also be open at the City Service Centre, 101 Wakefield Street, central city, until 12 noon on Saturday - and completed voting papers can be dropped off there as well.

So far 2,889 voting papers have been returned - which is just under 29 percent of the 10,002 papers that were sent out.

The by-election is being held under the single transferrable voting (STV) electoral system and the following candidates are standing for election:

  • Richard HERBERT (Independent)
  • Maree Helen LIBEAU (Independent)
  • Carol LONG (Independent)
  • Margaret LUCAS (Independent)
  • Thomas G P MORGAN
  • Malcolm Lloyd SPARROW (Independent)
  • Alistair SUTTON (Independent)
  • Neil John WILSON (Tawa Listening Project).