New Appointments to Key Capital Organisations

20 July 2009

Wellington City Council has made a number of appointments, and reappointments, to key organisations in the city. The appointments were confirmed at the Council's meeting on 29 June.

Graeme Mitchell has been appointed as the third Council-appointed trustee to the Karori Sanctuary Trust for a term of three years.

The following new Council representatives have been appointed for three-year terms:

  • Wellington Museums Trust: Alick Shaw
  • Wellington Water Management Limited (Capacity): Ian Hutchings
  • Wellington Zoo Trust: Linda Meade
  • Wellington Regional Stadium Trust: Chris Moller.

The following Council representatives, whose terms expired at the end of June, have been reappointed for the further term indicated:

  • Basin Reserve Trust: Glenn McGovern - 2.5 years
  • Regional Stadium Trust: Paul Collins (Chair) - three years; Sir John Anderson - three years.

The Council acknowledged the services of Richard Westlake during his tenure as a director of Wellington Water Management Limited (Capacity) and Lee Parkinson during his tenure as a trustee of the Zoo Trust.

All of the appointments were considered and recommended to the Council by an Appointments Group comprising Mayor Kerry Prendergast, Council Chief Executive Garry Poole, and the Chair of the Council-controlled Organisations Monitoring Subcommittee, James Ogden.

Mayor Prendergast said that in accordance with the Council's appointment processes, the Appointments Group considered a shortlist of candidates with the skills and experience necessary to fill the vacancies. This shortlist was compiled from a database of those persons who had expressed an interest in being appointed to a Council-controlled organisation and other candidates with relevant experience identified by sources including CCMAU.

"We are lucky to have a wealth of talented and highly qualified people in Wellington who are happy to play a role in the running of these important organisations," Mayor Prendergast said.

The New Karori Sanctuary Trust Board (as of 1 July)

Appointed by Wellington City Council:

  • Paul Callaghan
  • Russell Ballard
  • Graeme Mitchell

Appointed by Karori Sanctuary:

  • Peter Allport (Chair)
  • Catherine Judd
  • Charles Dougherty
  • Don Huse

Profiles of Appointees

Graeme Mitchell

Graeme has more than 28 years accounting and auditing experience, and has recently retired from Deloitte. He has been in charge of audit practice in the Wellington office and, as Lead Client Service Partner, has been responsible for leading the provision of service to some of New Zealand's largest organisations in the private and public sectors, where he was an appointed auditor on behalf of the Auditor General.

His expertise has spanned many different sectors covering finance, banking, insurance, superannuation, energy, the meat industry and not-for-profit.

Graeme has been Chair of the Board of Partners for Deloitte and is currently Ethics Partner for New Zealand.  For ICANZ he is currently a member of the Professional Conduct Committee, a panel appointed by the Institute to consider complaints against members.

He is currently Honorary Consul General for Norway in New Zealand since appointment in 2002 and a member of the Institute of Directors.

Alick Shaw

Alick has nine years' experience as a Wellington City Councillor, including two terms as Deputy Mayor. In that time, he also served as a director on the Capacity board, and was recently appointed by the Crown as Chair of the Carter Observatory Board. His current appointment as Deputy Chair of the Arts Council, and previous appointments to the Embassy Theatre Trust and the Wellington Sinfonia Orchestra speak to the suitability of his appointment.

Ian Hutchings

Ian Hutchings is a senior analyst in the Ministry of Economic Development's Radio Spectrum group and has had a career at both a technical and professional engineering level, as well as in policy development and management.  

He was a Wellington City Councillor for 12 years until 2004, chairing the Finance, Transport and Infrastructure committees. He has maintained an interest in resource management and is accredited, as an independent commissioner, as a Chair for resource consent decisions.  He is an elected member of the Hutt Mana Community Trust which manages a fund of around $40 million for the community beneficiaries and is Chair of their investment subsidiary HMCT Holdings (and HMCT Properties).

Linda Meade

Linda is Corporate Finance Director at Deloitte (Wellington) and her qualifications include Bachelor of Commerce and Administration, Bachelor of Science (Victoria University), Chartered Accountant, Associate of NZ Institute of Management.

Linda provides commercial and other specialist financial advice to a range of businesses and organisations spanning the public and private sectors. Over the past 15 years she has worked in London and Switzerland as well as New Zealand and is currently a senior manager in Deloitte's financial advisory services team in Wellington.

Chris Moller

Chris was Chief Executive of the New Zealand Rugby Union from January 2003 until recently. He is a Director of Rugby World Cup Limited and New Zealand Cricket.

Prior to taking up this position, Chris was the Deputy Chief Executive of Fonterra, New Zealand's largest company, and Managing Director of New Zealand Milk Products (NZMP) - Fonterra's largest business subsidiary contributing about half of Fonterra's total earnings.

Prior to joining the dairy industry Chris held several senior marketing and financial roles with various organisations including Barings Brothers London, Broadbank Corporation and Fletcher Challenge London.

A graduate of Victoria University (BCom and Admin, Dip.Acctg), Chris has also attended the London School of Economics and the Advanced Management Programme at INSEAD in France.