Ward boundaries

For electoral purposes, Wellington City is divided into 5 wards that elect a total of 14 Councillors.

This list includes:

  • One Mayor, who is elected by all the city's voters
  • Three Councillors for the Takapū/Northern Ward
  • Three Councillors for the Wharangi/Onslow-Western Ward 
  • Three Councillors for the Pukehīnau/Lambton Ward 
  • Three Councillors for the Motukairangi/Eastern Ward 
  • Two Councillors for the Paekawakawa/Southern Ward 

The number of Councillors for each ward is determined by the estimated resident population of each ward and the total population of the city as a whole. Legislation requires that the population each Councillor represents is within the range of (plus or minus) 10% of the average population-per-member across the whole city.