Accessibility awards

The Wellington Accessibility Awards are designed to recognise businesses, initiatives and people who help make Wellington City more accessible for everyone.

Winners of the 2019 Wellington Community and Accessibility Awards.

Winners of the 2019 Wellington Community and Accessibility Awards

2019 was the second year that the Accessibility Awards were presented.

Awards ceremony

These awards are presented annually by Wellington City Council in a joint ceremony alongside the Wellington Community Awards.

There are five award categories: 

  • Accessibility Champion Award
  • Accessible Initiative Award
  • Accessible Workplace Award
  • Customer Service Award
  • Innovative Design in Accessibility Award

Accessible videos explaining award categories

2019 winners

Accessibility Champion

Celebrating a local leader or champion who has made a significant contribution to improving accessibility in Wellington.

  • Winner: The Royal New Zealand Ballet

Accessible Initiative

Celebrating an initiative that improves the accessibility of places, services or information in Wellington.

  • Winner: dsport

Customer Service Award

Celebrating customer service that has gone the extra mile to eliminate barriers to participation.

  • Winner: Government House Wellington

Innovative Design in Accessibility Award

Celebrating innovative design that improves accessibility in Wellington.

  • Winner: Toitū Pōneke Community and Sports Centre

More information

Donna Wilson, Team Leader Community Resilience

Phone: 04 499 4444