# CENTRAL CITY SAFER SPEED LIMIT HEARINGS SUBCOMMITTEE

# MINUTES

# **TUESDAY 1 APRIL 2014**

# 9.15AM – 1PM

Committee Room One Ground Floor, Council Offices 101 Wakefield St Wellington

#### **PRESENT:**

Councillor Foster (Chair) Councillor Lee

Councillor Pannett Councillor Young

APOLOGIES: Mayor Wade-Brown

### IN ATTENDANCE:

Councillor Coughlan Councillor Peck (10.25 – 10.37am; 10.50am - 11.15am)

(9.15 – 10.37am; 10.50am – 1pm)

(9.15 – 10.37am; 10.50am – 1pm)

12.35pm; 12.35 - 1pm)

(9.15 - 10.37am; 10.50am - 11.50am; 12.25 -

(9.15 - 10.37am; 10.50am - 11.02am; 11.04 - 1pm)

(9.15 – 10.37am; 10.50am – 1pm)

#### **DEMOCRATIC SERVICES OFFICER IN ATTENDANCE:**

Libby Kemp - Committee Advisor

### APOLOGIES

Moved Councillor Foster, Seconded Councillor Pannett, the motion that the Transport and Urban Development Committee receive apologies from Mayor Wade-Brown for absence.

#### The motion was <u>put</u> and declared <u>CARRIED</u>.

#### **RESOLVED:**

That the Transport and Urban Development Committee:

1. Receive the apology from Mayor Wade-Brown for absence.

#### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

#### NOTED

There was no public participation.

#### **CONFLICT OF INTEREST DECLARATIONS**

#### NOTED:

There were no conflicts of interest declared.

#### ORAL HEARINGS – CENTRAL CITY SAFER SPEED LIMIT HEARINGS Schedule of Oral Submitter (REPORT 1)

#### NOTED

1. Ellen Blake representing Living Streets Aotearoa (Submission 726) spoke in support of this organisation's submission.

#### **TABLED INFORMATION:** Reference A

2. Eleanor Meecham representing Cycle Aware Wellington (Submission number 725) spoke in support of this organisation's submission.

### **TABLED INFORMATION:** Reference B

- 3. Stefan Collins representing Sports Wellington (Submission number 702) spoke in support of his submission.
- 4. Ifor Owens (Submission 720) spoke in support of his submission.
- 5. Ron Beernink (Submission 278) sent his apologies for non-attendance.

TABLED INFORMATION: Reference C

- 6. Roland Sapsford (Submission 306) spoke in support of his submission.
- 7. James Burgess (Submission 18) spoke in support of his submission.
- 8. Terence Poynter (Submission 20) spoke in support of his submission.
- 9. Martin Ehrenstein (Submission 343) spoke in support of his submission.
- 10. Chris Horne and Barbara Mitcalfe (Submission 298) spoke in support of their submission.

## TABLED INFORMATION: Reference D

(The meeting adjourned for morning tea at 10.37am, and reconvened at 10.50am.)

(Councillors Foster, Lee, Pannett and Young were present when the meeting reconvened).

- 11. Kent Duston (Submission 575) spoke in support of his submission.
- 12. Julian Boorman (Submission 52) spoke in support of his submission.
- 13. John Gordon (Submission 233) spoke in support of his submission.
- 14. Lorraine Allison (Submission 395) spoke in support of her submission.
- 15. Alastair Smith (Submission 665) spoke in support of his submission.
- 16. Catharine Underwood (Submission 699) spoke in support of her submission.
- 17. Dr R Scott Metcalfe representing Ora Taiao (Submission 723) spoke on behalf of this organisation's submission.
- 18. Liz Springford (Submission 711) spoke on behalf of her submission.
- 19. Russell Tregonning (Submission 593) spoke on behalf of his submission.
- 20. Patrick Morgan representing Cycle Advocates Network (Submission 721) spoke on behalf of this organisation's submission.
- 21. Senior Sergeant Richard Hocken representing the New Zealand Police (Submission 736) spoke on behalf of this organisation's submission.
- 22. Michael Gross and Dylan Thomsen representing the NZ Automobile Association (Submission 732) spoke on behalf of this organisation's submission.

The meeting concluded at 1pm.

Confirmed:

Chair / /