Minutes Youth Council Meeting

Venue: Mezzanine Community Room, Central Library, Victoria St, Wellington

When: 3.30 - 4.00 pm, 9 December 2015

Present

Members: Anya Bukholt-Payne, Siobhan Davies, Melissa Gibson, Niamh Hyde,

Sebastian Klinkum, Justina Koh, Petelo Leaupepe, Jack Marshall, Oliver Michie, Teri O'Neill, Sophie Reedy-Young, Timothy Rutherford,

Damon Rusden Ben van den Eykel and Cameron Wright.

Officers: Neil McInnes, Kate Irvine and Fiona Lewis

1. Opening

Siobhan welcomed everyone.

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillor Woolf, Rosemary Mwipiko, Jack Comer-Hudson, Eva McGauley, and Sean Johnson.

3. What's on Top

Everyone shared at least one important thing going on in their lives.

4. Conflicts of interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

5. Annual Plan

Council officer Neil McInnes provided the Youth Council with a brief oversight of the Annual Plan process. He stated that the Annual Plan website is currently being created and will be available online from 15 December. He encouraged Youth Councillors to submit a proposal prior to 5 February 2016.

6. Previous minutes and matters arising

Sebastian Klinkum asked that Jack Comer-Hudson's name be added to the previous minutes as a presenter on the Wellington Town Belt submission to the Select Committee.

Oliver Mitchie moved the amended minutes and Siobhan Davies seconded that:

1. The minutes were a true and correct record of the meeting.

Carried.

7. General Business

Professional Development Training Programme

Council Officer Kate Irvine spoke to and distributed a copy of the Youth Councils Professional Development for 2016. Kate advised that a copy will be uploaded into dropbox following the meeting.

Appointing Chairs of Working Groups

The Youth Council agreed that Sean Johnson and Jack Marshall should be the cochair of policy working group.

Oliver Mitchie moved and Siobhan Davies seconded that:

1. Oliver Mitchie is the chair of the Annual Report Working Group

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For: Siobhan Davies Anya Bukholt-Payne Melissa Gibson Niamh Hyde Sebastian Klinkum Justina Koh Petelo Leaupepe Jack Marshall Oliver Michie Teri O'Neill Sophie Reedy-Young Timothy Rutherford Damon Rusden Ben van den Eykel Cameron Wright. Carried Majority Vote: 14:1

Education Act Review

The Youth Council discussed whether or not it was possible to write a submission on behalf of the Youth Council on the Education Act Review. The Youth Council decided that given the short time frame they were provided by the Ministry of Education, that they would not be able to submit a quality submission.

It was suggested that individuals could complete a short online submission if they wanted to.

Wellington Access Radio

Teri queried what was happening with Wellington Access Radio and whether she was to take charge of the process. It was agreed that Teri should email the working group for feedback.

Chair and Deputy Chair nominations for 2016

Ollie and Siobhan explained the process for next year's Chair and Deputy Chair nominations:

- 1. Nominations for both positions will be accepted on the first meeting in 2016 (Wednesday 17 February 2016).
- 2. Every year Youth Councillors are asked whether or not they wanted a Chair and a Deputy Chair or if they wanted co-chairs.
- 3. Youth Councillors can nominate other members or nominate themselves for either position.
- 4. At the 2nd meeting of the year (2 March 2016) nominees will be asked to provide a 1 minute speech as to why they should be either Chair or Deputy Chair.
- 5. The Youth Council will take votes for a Chair and as soon as one is appointed, they will take a vote for a deputy chair.
- 6. Youth Council does not publish votes and ballots are destroyed following the election.

Action and decision summary

- 1. Fiona Lewis to upload a copy of the Professional Development Plan 2016 into Dropbox.
- 2. Fiona Lewis to email Magila from the Ministry of Education to state that Youth Council will not be submitting on the Education Act Review due to the short time frame.
- 3. Teri O'Neill to email working group for feedback.
- 4. Fiona Lewis to follow up to see if media have been advised of or have provided advice to the Youth Council on Wellington Access Radio.

The meeting closed at 4:07 pm.