

REPORT 4 (1215/11/IM)

Report of the Strategy and Policy Committee Meeting of Thursday 18 October 2012.

Members: Mayor Wade-Brown, Councillors Ahipene-Mercer, Best (Deputy Chair), Cook, Coughlan, Eagle, Foster (Chair), Gill, Lester, McKinnon, Marsh, Morrison, Pannett, Pepperell and Ritchie.

THE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS:

1. ITEM 309/12P REVIEW OF REPRESENTATION
ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE 2013 LOCAL AUTHORITY
ELECTIONS
(1215/52/IM) (REPORT 1)

THAT Council:

- 1. (a) Agree the decision to elect the members of the Wellington City Council (other than the Mayor) under the ward system for the 2013 local authority elections be confirmed.
 - (b) Agree that the Council's initial proposal to divide the city into five wards for electoral purposes, as approved by the Council at its meeting on 29 August 2012 and publicly notified on 4 September 2012, be confirmed and that the names of those wards and the suburban communities of interest comprised within each of those wards be as follows:
 - (i) Northern Ward
 Comprising Churton Park, Glenside, Grenada North,
 Grenada Village, Horokiwi, Johnsonville, Newlands,
 Ohariu, Paparangi, Takapu Valley, Tawa and Woodridge
 (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached
 Northern Ward Boundary Map dated July 2012 Appendix 1 of the report of the Committee).

- (ii) Onslow/Western Ward
 Comprising Broadmeadows, Crofton Downs,
 Kaiwharawhara, Karori, Khandallah, Makara, Makara
 Beach, Ngaio, Ngauranga, Northland, Wadestown and
 Wilton (the boundaries of which are as shown on the
 attached Onslow/Western Ward Boundary Map dated July
 2012 Appendix 2 of the report of the Committee).
- (iii) Lambton Ward
 Comprising Aro Valley, part of Brooklyn, Highbury,
 Kelburn, Mt Cook, Mt Victoria, Oriental Bay, Pipitea, Te
 Aro, Thorndon and Wellington Central (the boundaries of
 which are as shown on the attached Lambton Ward
 Boundary Map dated July 2012 Appendix 3 of the report
 of the Committee).
- (iv) Southern Ward
 Comprising Berhampore, part of Brooklyn, Island Bay,
 Kingston, Mornington, Newtown, Owhiro Bay, Southgate
 and Vogeltown (the boundaries of which are as shown on
 the attached Southern Ward Boundary Map dated July
 2012 Appendix 4 of the report of the Committee).
- (v) Eastern Ward
 Comprising Breaker Bay, Hataitai, Houghton Bay,
 Karaka Bays, Kilbirnie, Lyall Bay, Maupuia, Melrose,
 Miramar, Moa Point, Rongotai, Roseneath, Seatoun and
 Strathmore Park (the boundaries of which are as shown
 on the attached Eastern Ward Boundary Map dated July
 2012 Appendix 5 of the report of the Committee).

Note

No changes are proposed to the current ward boundaries as they all comply with the "fairness" provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 (LEA).

(c) Agree the decision to retain the level of elected members (excluding the Mayor) at 14 be confirmed and that the distribution of those members between the five wards be as follows:

Northern Ward
Onslow/Western Ward
Lambton Ward
Southern Ward
Eastern Ward

3 Councillors
3 Councillors
2 Councillors
3 Councillors
3 Councillors

- (d) Agree the decision that the Tawa Community Board continue to operate within its current boundaries (as shown in Appendix 6 of the report of the Committee), that the community not be subdivided for electoral purposes and that its existing membership of six elected members continue to be elected by the electors of the Tawa community as a whole, plus two appointed members, be confirmed.
- (e) Agree the decision that the existing boundary of the Makara/Ohariu Community Board be adjusted to exclude meshblock 2104603 from the current board area (as shown in Appendix 7 of the report of the Committee), be confirmed.
- (f) Agree that, subject to the minor boundary alteration referred to in recommendation 3(e) above, the decision that the existing Makara/Ohariu Community Board continue to operate within its current boundaries (as shown in Appendix 7 of the report of the Committee), that the community not be subdivided for electoral purposes and that its existing membership of six elected members (and no appointed members) continue to be elected by the electors of the Makara/Ohariu community as a whole, be confirmed.
- (g) Agree the decision that no further community boards be established across the city at this time be confirmed.
- (h) Agree that the wording of the reasons for the Council's decision, and its acceptance or rejection of submissions received on the Council's initial proposal dated 28 June 2006, be approved by the Portfolio Leader Governance and the Chief Executive.

Note

The reasons for any Council's decision to amend its initial proposal and its rejection of any submissions received on it, must be included in the public notice that the Council is required to give, under section 19N of the Local Electoral Act 2001.

2. ITEM 310/12P TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT VENUE FOR WELLINGTON VENUES LIMITED

(1215/52/IM) (REPORT 4)

THAT Council:

1. Note that the Council agreed on 27 June 2012 that \$4 million of capital expenditure for the modification of the TSB Bank Arena/Shed 6 be included in the Long Term Plan in 2012/13 and that this funding be contingent on formal confirmation that no earthquake issues arise with respect to TSB Bank Arena and Shed 6 from the proposed works.

- 2. Agree:
 - (a) The proposal for the modification of Shed 6/TSB Bank Arena as a replacement venue for the Town Hall does not proceed; and
 - (b) \$875,000 (Capex) be committed to funding a seismic separation cut between the TSB Bank Arena and Shed 6.
- 3. Agree to allocate capital expenditure funding of \$875,000 to Wellington Waterfront Limited that the funding for the wharf work be provided to Wellington Waterfront Limited through an increase in the loan to Wellington Waterfront Limited.

Andy Foster Chair