ORDINARY MEETING

OF

TRANSPORT AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

MINUTES

9:19 am
Wednesday, 4 May 2016
Committee Room 1
Ground Floor, Council Offices
101 Wakefield Street
Wellington

PRESENT

Mayor Wade-Brown **Councillor Ahipene-Mercer** Councillor Coughlan **Councillor Eagle** Councillor Foster (Chair) **Councillor Free** Councillor Lee Councillor Lester Councillor Marsh **Councillor Pannett Councillor Peck Councillor Ritchie Councillor Sparrow** Councillor Swain (Greater Wellington Regional Council) Councillor Woolf **Councillor Young**

TABLE OF CONTENTS4 MAY 2016

Business

Page No.

1.	Meeting Conduct	5
	1.1 Apologies	5
	1.2 Conflict of Interest Declarations	5
	1.4 Public Participation	5
2.	General Business	5
	2.1 Hearings - Hutt Road Cycleway	5

1 Meeting Conduct

1.1 Apologies

Moved Councillor Foster, seconded Mayor Wade-Brown

Resolved

1. Accept the apologies received from Councillor Swain for absence and Councillor Eagle and Councillor Ahipene-Mercer for lateness.

Carried

1.2 Conflict of Interest Declarations

Nil

1.3 Public Participation

No requests for public participation received.

2. General Business

2.1 Hearings - Hutt Road Cycleway

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
9:22	1	Michelle Rush		
9:28	2	Chris Gollins		
9:36	3	Sridhar Ekambaram		
	4	Alastair Smith	-	Cancelled
9:39	5&6	Peter Ramsbottom	EN Ramsbottom & Ramsbottom Properties	Photos

(Councillor Lester left the meeting at 9:53 am.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
9:44	7	Peter Barlow		
9:53	8	Nick Crowe		
9:58	13	Jeff Owens		Updated Submission, Notes and diagrams

(Councillor Marsh left the meeting at 9:58 am.) (Councillor Marsh returned to the meeting at 10:03 am.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
	9	John Lucinsky		Did not attend
10:08	10	Michael Ellis		Powerpoint
	11	Don McLean	-	Cancelled
	12	Jenny van der Merwe		Cancelled

(Councillor Ahipene-Mercer joined the meeting at 10:13 am.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
10:16	17	Diane Calvert		Notes

The meeting adjourned for morning tea at 10:21 am.

Members present when the meeting reconvened at 10:45 am were Mayor Wade-Brown, Councillor Ahipene-Mercer, Councillor Coughlan, Councillor Foster, Councillor Free, Councillor Lee, Councillor Pannett, Councillor Peck, Councillor Ritchie, Councillor Sparrow and Councillor Woolf.

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
10:46	14	Tom Bennion		Powerpoint

(Councillor Young returned to the meeting at 10:46 am.) (Councillor Marsh returned to the meeting at 10:46 am.) (Councillor Lester returned to the meeting at 10:57 am.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
10:58	15	Keith Morris		
11:00	16	Brent Slater		Notes
11:13	18	Ken Glassey		Photos

(Councillor Peck left the meeting at 11:15 am.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
11:20	19	Christine McKenna	Khandallah Residents Group	Notes
11:32	20	Helga Wientjes		

TRANSPORT AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE 4 MAY 2016

11:40	21	Trevor Knowles		
11:46	22	Peter Panettieri		Notes
11:54	23	Jo Glen	Best Start (Early Years Hutt Road)	
12:04	24	Tracy Berghan White		
12:11	25	Tony Randle		Notes
12:19	70	Mike Mellor	Living Streets Aotearoa	Powerpoint
12:24	26	Mike Mellor		

(Councillor Free left the meeting at 12:24 pm.)

The meeting adjourned for lunch at 12:32 pm.

Members present when the meeting reconvened at 12:21 pm were Mayor Wade-Brown, Councillor Coughlan, Councillor Foster, Councillor Pannett, Councillor Sparrow, Councillor Woolf and Councillor Young.

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
13:21	27	Matt Jones		
13:28	28	Tony Simmers		
13:25	29	Chris Horne		

(Councillor Ritchie returned to the meeting at 01:36 pm.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
13:41	30	Keith Mitchell		
13:48	37	Cr. Paul Bruce		
13:56	31	Alex Gray	Wellington District Council NZAA	
14:03	32	Tim Kelly and Matt Williams	Carters	Notes

(Councillor Marsh returned to the meeting at 02:11 pm.)

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
14:05	33	Paul Kennett	The Kennett Brothers Ltd	
14:20	34	Benjamin Burkhart		
14:15	35	Nick Edwards		Powerpoint
14:35	36	Michael McKeon	KiwiRail	

TRANSPORT AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE 4 MAY 2016

14:47	38	Boyden Evans		
	39	Chris Heyhoe	-	CANCELLED
14:53	40	James Burgess	Cycle Action Network	

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
	41	Brian Wolfman	-	CANCELLED
15.15	55	Bernard O'Shaughnessy		Submission and notes
15:17	42	Tim Baker and Rod Badcock	Hutt Cycle Network	Powerpoint

(Mayor Wade-Brown left the meeting at 03:28 pm.)

The meeting adjourned for a short break at 03:28 pm.

Members present when the meeting reconvened at 03:32 pm were Councillor Coughlan, Councillor Foster, Councillor Lee, Councillor Lester, Councillor Marsh, Councillor Pannett, Councillor Sparrow and Councillor Young.

Time	Sub #	Name	Organisation	Tabled Information
15:28	44	Sam Somers		Notes
15:34	43	Julian Boorman		
15:38	45	Ron Beernink	Cycle Aware Wellington	
15:51	46	Andrew Gane		

Moved Councillor Foster, seconded Councillor Lee

Resolved

That the Transport and Urban Development Committee:

1. Receive the oral submissions.

Carried

Attachments

- 1 Peter Ramsbottom | Submission 5 & 6
- 2 Jeff Owens | Submission 13 | Updated Submission
- 3 Jeff Owens | Submission 13
- 4 Michael Ellis | Submission 10
- 5 Diane Calvert | Submission 17
- 6 Tom Beninson | Submission 14
- 7 Brent Slater | Submission 16

TRANSPORT AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE 4 MAY 2016

- 8 Ken Glassey | Submission 18
- 9 Christine McKenna | Submission 19
- 10 Peter Panettierei | Submission 22
- 11 Tony Randle | Submission 25
- 12 Mike Mellor | Submission 70
- 13 Matt Williams and Tim Kelly | Submission 32
- 14 Nick Edwards | Submission 35
- 15 Bernard O'Shaughnessy | Submission 55 | Submission
- 16 Bernard O'Shaughnessy | Submission 55 | Notes
- 17 Tim Baker and Rod Badcock | Submission
- 18 Sam Somers | Submission 44

The meeting concluded at 3:54 pm.

Confirmed:

Chair