# **ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE**



# **MINUTES**

# **TUESDAY 27 MAY 2014**

9.15am - 10.41am, 10.58am - 12.30pm, 1.00pm - 1.48pm

Committee Room One Ground Floor, Council Offices 101 Wakefield St Wellington

# **PRESENT:**

Councillor Pannett (Chair)

Councillor Ritchie

Councillor Ahipene-Mercer

 $(9.15am-10.41am,\,10.59am-11.52am,\,12.15pm-$ 

12.30 pm, 1.21 pm - 1.46 pm)

Councillor Lee

Councillor Sparrow

# **APOLOGIES:**

Mayor Wade-Brown Councillor Foster Councillor Free

# **IN ATTENDANCE**:

Councillor Eagle

#### **APOLOGIES**

Moved Councillor Pannett, seconded Councillor Sparrow, the motion that the Environment Committee receive apologies from Mayor Wade-Brown, Councillor Foster, and Councillor Free.

The motion was <u>put</u> and declared <u>CARRIED</u>.

#### **RESOLVED:**

THAT the Environment Committee:

1. Receive apologies from Mayor Wade-Brown, Councillor Foster, and Councillor Free.

#### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

#### **NOTED:**

Janet Weir expressed concern that Council was not doing enough to assist owners of properties adjoining Mount Albert Park, and offered suggestions regarding ways in which assistance could be provided.

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE A)

# CONFLICT OF INTEREST DECLARATIONS

#### **NOTED:**

There were no conflict of interest declarations.

(Councillor Pannett vacated the chair).

(The chair was assumed by Councillor Ritchie).

# ORAL HEARINGS – DRAFT WELLINGTON TOWN BELT BILL TUESDAY 27 MAY 2014

Report of Mike Oates – Manager, Open Space and Recreation Planning (REPORT 1)

1. Craig Palmer and Jim McMahon, representing Wellington Civic Trust (submission number 15) addressed the Committee in support of the Trust's submission.

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE B)

- 2. Bev Abbott, representing Wellington Botanical Society (submission number 47) addressed the Committee in support of the Society's submission.
- 3. Victor Davie (submission number 18) addressed the Committee in support of his submission.

# (TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE C)

- 4. Michael Gibson (submission number 31) addressed the Committee in support of his submission.
- 5. Joanna Newman, representing Mt Victoria Historical Society Inc. (submission number 33) had earlier advised officers that she would not be attending the meeting in support of the Society's submission.
- 6. Joan Quinn (submission number 12) addressed the Committee in support of her submission.
- 7. David Lee, representing Action for Environment Inc. (submission number 49) addressed the meeting in support of the Incorporated Society's submission.

# (TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE D)

- 8. Barbara Mitcalfe and Chris Horne (submission number 39) addressed the Committee in support of their submission.
- 9. Robin Buxton (submission number 10) addressed the Committee in support of his submission.
- 10. Ron Beernink (submission number 4) was unable to address the Committee in support of his submission as he had had to leave owing to the Committee's slight rejigging of the timetable.

(The meeting adjourned for morning tea at 10.41am and reconvened at 10.58am).

(Councillors Ritchie, Pannett, Lee, and Sparrow were present when the meeting reconvened).

11. Hugh Smith, representing My Home Town Limited (submission number 6) addressed the Committee in support of the Company's submission.

(During the oral submission from Hugh Smith, Councillor Ahipene-Mercer returned to the meeting at 10.59am).

12. John Bishop, representing the Friends of the Wellington Town Belt (submission number 14) addressed the Committee in support of the Friends' submission.

# (TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE E)

- 13. Rosamund Averton (submission number 45) addressed the Committee in support of her submission.
- 14. Dr. Hugh Barr (submission number 24) was not in attendance to support his submission.
- 15. Martin Hanley, representing the Newtown Residents' Association (submission number 38) addressed the Committee in support of the Association's submission.
- 16. Bernard O'Shaugnessy (submission number 11) was not in attendance to support his submission.
- 17. Elaine Hampton, representing the Mt Victoria Residents' Association (submission number 36) was not in attendance to support the Association's submission.
- 18. Stewart McKenzie and Selwyn Blackmore, representing the NZ Transport Agency (submission number 26) addressed the Committee in support of the Agency's submission.

(During the oral submission from Stewart McKenzie and Selwyn Blackmore representing the NZ Transport Agency, Councillor Ahipene-Mercer left the meeting at 11.52am).

- 19. Mike Hurley and Dhilum Nightingale, representing Transpower New Zealand Limited (submission number 42) addressed the Committee in support of the Company's submission.
- 20. Lorraine Griffin (submission number 13) addressed the Committee in support of her submission.

# (TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE F)

- 21. Robin Boldarin (submission number 50) was not in attendance to support his submission.
  - (Councillor Ahipene-Mercer returned to the meeting at 12.15pm).
- 22. Paula Warren, representing the Environmental Reference Group (submission number 2) addressed the Committee in support of the Group's submission.
  - (The meeting adjourned for lunch at 12.30pm and reconvened at 1.00pm). (Councillors Ritchie, Pannett, Lee, and Sparrow were present when the meeting reconvened).
- 23. Chris Gray, James Harris, and David Henderson, representing the Coromandel Street Residents (submission number 27) addressed the Committee in support of the Group's submission.

24. James Harris (submission number 29) addressed the Committee in support of his submission.

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE G)

(During the oral submission from James Harris, Councillor Ahipene-Mercer returned to the meeting at 1.21pm).

25. Chris Gray (submission number 22) addressed the Committee in support of his submission.

Moved Councillor Ritchie, seconded Councillor Ahipene-Mercer, the substantive motion.

The substantive motion was <u>put</u> and declared <u>CARRIED</u>.

# **RESOLVED:**

THAT the Environment Committee:

1. Receive the oral submissions.

(Councillor Ahipene-Mercer left the meeting at 1.46pm).

The meeting concluded at 1.48pm.

Confirmed:_		
	Chair	

′ /