

REPORT 2 (1215/11/IM)

Report of the Strategy and Policy Committee Meeting of Thursday 9 August 2012

Members: Mayor Wade-Brown, Councillors Ahipene-Mercer, Best (Deputy Chair), Cook, Coughlan, Eagle, Foster (Chair), Gill, Lester, McKinnon, Marsh, Morrison, Pannett, Pepperell and Ritchie.

THE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS:

1. ITEM 231/12P REPRESENTATION REVIEW – INITIAL REPRESENTATION PROPOSAL FOR THE 2013 LOCAL AUTHORITY ELECTION (1215/52/IM) (REPORT 1)

THAT Council:

- 1. Agree that the members of the Wellington City Council (other than the Mayor) be elected under the ward system for the 2013 local authority elections.
- 2. Agree that the city be divided into five wards for the 2013 local authority elections and that the names of those wards and the suburban communities of interest comprised within each of those wards, be as follows:
 - (a) Northern Ward
 Comprising Churton Park, Glenside, Grenada North, Grenada
 Village, Horokiwi, Johnsonville, Newlands, Ohariu, Paparangi,
 Takapu Valley, Tawa and Woodridge (the boundaries of which
 are as shown on the attached Northern Ward Boundary Map
 dated July 2012 Appendix 1).
 - (b) Onslow/Western Ward
 Comprising Broadmeadows, Crofton Downs, Kaiwharawhara,
 Karori, Khandallah, Makara, Makara Beach, Ngaio,
 Ngauranga, Northland, Wadestown and Wilton (the boundaries
 of which are as shown on the attached Onslow/Western Ward
 Boundary Map dated July 2012 Appendix 2).

(c) Lambton Ward
Comprising Aro Valley, Part Brooklyn, Highbury, Kelburn, Mt
Cook, Mt Victoria, Oriental Bay, Pipitea, Te Aro, Thorndon and
Wellington Central (the boundaries of which are as shown on
the attached Lambton Ward Boundary Map dated July 2012 Appendix 3).

(d) Southern Ward

Comprising Berhampore, Part Brooklyn, Island Bay, Kingston, Mornington, Newtown, Owhiro Bay Southgate and Vogeltown (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Southern Ward Boundary Map July 2012 - Appendix 4).

(e) Eastern Ward

Comprising Breaker Bay, Hataitai, Houghton Bay, Karaka Bays, Kilbirnie, Lyall Bay, Maupuia, Melrose, Miramar, Moa Point, Rongotai, Roseneath, Seatoun, and Strathmore Park (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Eastern Ward Boundary Map dated July 2012 - Appendix 5).

Note: The recommendation is to retain the status quo with no boundary changes.

3. Agree to recommend to Council that the number of elected members (excluding the Mayor) be retained at 14 and that the distribution of those numbers between the five wards is as follows:

Northern Ward
Onslow/Western Ward
Lambton Ward
Southern Ward
Eastern Ward
Southern Ward
Councillors
Councillors
Councillors
Councillors

4. Agree to recommend to Council that the Tawa Community Board continue to operate within its current boundaries (as shown in Appendix 6), that the community not be subdivided for electoral purposes and that its existing membership of six elected members continue to be elected by the electors of the Tawa community as a whole, plus two appointed members.

Note:

The Tawa Community Board voted unanimously in support of this recommendation at its meeting held on 12 July 2012.

5. Agree that the boundary of the Makara/Ohariu Community Board be adjusted to exclude meshblock 2104603 from the current board area, as shown on the map attached to this report (Appendix 7).

Note:

The Makara/Ohariu Community Board voted unanimously in support of this recommendation at its meeting held on 19 July 2012.

6. Agree that subject to the approval of the boundary alteration referred to in recommendation 5 above, the existing Makara/Ohariu Community Board continue to operate within its current boundaries (as shown in Appendix 7), that the community not be subdivided for electoral purposes and that its existing membership of six elected members (and no appointed members) continue to be elected by the electors of the Makara/Ohariu community as a whole.

Note:

The Makara/Ohariu Community Board voted in support of this recommendation (by 4 votes to 1) at its meeting held on 19 July 2012.

7. Agree that no further community boards be established across the city at this time.

Note:

The Tawa Community Board voted in support of this recommendation at its meeting on 12 July 2012. The decision was made on the understanding that more community boards could be established if the required level interest was shown from a particular community. The Makara/Ohariu Community Board considered the recommendation at its meeting on 19 July 2012 but decided it was not appropriate for them to vote on this issue.

- 8. Agree that the following days be set aside to hear submissions received on the Council's initial representation proposal:
 - Tuesday 9 October 2012 (1pm 4pm)
 - Wednesday 10 October 2012 (9.15am 4pm).

Andy Foster Chair