Absolutely Positively Wellington City Council

Me Heke Ki Pōneke

Wellington City Council

2016 Triennial Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT

The final result for the Wellington City Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayor

	LESTER Justin	New Zealand Labour Party	elected
COUGHLAN JoIndependentexcludYOUNG NicolaFreeze rates and cut wasteexcludFOSTER AndyexcludexcludRITCHIE HeleneIndependentexcludJOHNSON KeithIndependentexclud	COUGHLAN Jo YOUNG Nicola FOSTER Andy RITCHIE Helene JOHNSON Keith	Independent Freeze rates and cut waste Independent Independent	excluded excluded excluded excluded excluded excluded

Justin Lester is declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 28,309. There were 63 informal votes and 452 blank votes.

Northern Ward (3 vacancies)

SPARROW Malcolm * DAY Jill	Independent	elected elected
GILBERD Peter	New Zealand Labour Party	elected
SAWYER Graeme GRAY Judith APANOWICZ John	Local Champion for YOUR Northern Suburbs Independent Independent	excluded excluded excluded

Jill Day, Peter Gilberd and Malcolm Sparrow are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 3,048.02. There were 22 informal votes and 925 blank votes.

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board. Jill Day was declared elected unopposed to the Tawa Community Board following the close of nominations, a by-election will now be held for the Tawa Community Board.)

Onslow-Western Ward (3 vacancies)

FOSTER Andy WOOLF Simon CALVERT Diane	Independent Independent	elected elected elected
CHUNG Ray	Independent	excluded
PLUMMER Matthew	A fresh voice for change and affordable rates	excluded
DOUGLAS Paul	Independent	excluded
MORGAN Thomas Gregory Phipp	s	excluded

Diane Calvert, Andy Foster and Simon Woolf are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 3,658.93. There were 21 informal votes and 1,250 blank votes.

PANNETT Iona	Green Party	elected
YOUNG Nicola	Freeze rates and cut waste	elected
DAWSON Brian	New Zealand Labour Party	elected
SCANNELL Mazz	Independent	excluded
JANSEN Tony	Independent	excluded
HOLLARD Milton	A more responsive Council	excluded
GEE Dave	Independent	excluded
MIHAKA Troy	The Independent Choice	excluded

Brian Dawson, Iona Pannett and Nicola Young are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,737.27. There were 23 informal votes and 863 blank votes.

Eastern Ward (3 vacancies)

FREE Sarah	Green Party	elected
MARSH Simon Swampy	Independent	elected
CALVI-FREEMAN Chris	Connecting Communities	elected
MCGREGOR Lynda GOULDEN Rob MURRAY Robert	New Zealand Labour Party Independent	excluded excluded excluded

Chris Calvi-Freeman, Sarah Free and Simon Swampy Marsh are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,804.93. There were 61 informal votes and 717 blank votes.

Southern Ward (2 vacancies)

EAGLE Paul	New Zealand Labour Party	elected
LEE David	Green Party	elected
BONNER Brendon	Red/Green Independent	excluded
PIERSON Brent	Independent	excluded
MCDONALD Don Newt	Hold us to Account	excluded

Paul Eagle and David Lee are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,718.58. There were 45 informal votes and 301 blank votes.

Makara-Ohariu Community Board (6 vacancies)

GRACE Christine TODD Hamish RENNER Chris APANOWICZ John RUDD Wayne LIDDELL Judy	Independent	elected elected elected elected elected elected
MAY Kath CHUNG Ray	Independent	excluded excluded

John Apanowicz, Christine Grace, Judy Liddell, Chris Renner, Wayne Rudd and Hamish Todd are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 45.66. There were 1 informal votes and 13 blank votes.

The voter return was 45.57%, being 64,659 voting papers, excluding special votes.

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer Wellington City Council 13 October 2016