

## **Wellington City Council**

## **2013 Triennial Elections**

## PRELIMINARY RESULT

The preliminary result for the Wellington City Council elections held on Saturday 12th October is as follows.

Mayor		Iteration	Votes
Celia Wade-Brown	Elected	5	26,854.00
John Morrison	Not elected	5	24,570.00
Jack Yan	Not elected	4	9,915.00
Nicola Young	Not elected	3	5,069.00
Rob Goulden	Not elected	2	2,590.00
Karunanidhi Muthu	Not elected	1	919.00

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 25,712. There were 70 informal votes and 512 blank votes.

Northern Ward (3 vacancies)		Iteration	Votes
Justin Lester	Elected	1	3,826.00
Malcolm Sparrow	Elected	2	3,033.74
Helene Ritchie	Elected	7	2,752.79
Peter Gilberd	Not elected	7	2,721.17
Reagan Cutting	Not elected	3	901.44
Jacob Toner	Not elected	2	376.30

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,744.93. There were 30 informal votes and 451 blank votes.

Onslow-Western Ward (3 vacancies)		Iteration	Votes
Andy Foster	Elected	1	4,366.00
Jo Coughlan	Elected	7	3,484.07
Simon Woolf	Elected	11	3,565.98
Malcolm Aitken	Not elected	11	1,967.89
Hayley Robinson	Not elected	11	964.29
Phil Howison	Not elected	10	705.17
Martin Wilson	Not elected	8	599.33
Dan Coffey	Not elected	6	501.45
Sridhar Ekambaram	Not elected	5	339.47
Arie Ketel	Not elected	4	222.64
Emma Macrae	Not elected	3	202.16
Gill Holmes	Not elected	2	80.35

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 3,402.27. There were 48 informal votes and 605 blank votes.

Lambton Ward (3 vacancies)		Iteration	Votes
Iona Katherine Mary Pannett	Elected	1	3,353.00
Nicola Young	Elected	9	2,489.70
Mark Peck	Elected	11	2,332.94
Rex Nicholls	Not elected	11	1,935.14
John Dow	Not elected	9	1,032.34
John Woolf	Not elected	8	776.88
Jennifer Gwilliam Stephen	Not elected	7	592.91
Mark Wilson	Not elected	6	429.33
Michael Appleby	Not elected	5	382.76
Stephen Preston	Not elected	3	306.68
Milton Hollard	Not elected	2	137.22

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,218.31. There were 43 informal votes and 408 blank votes.

Eastern Ward (3 vacancies)		Iteration	Votes
Simon Swampy Marsh	Elected	5	2,733.00
Ray Ahipene-Mercer	Elected	8	2,697.47
Sarah Free	Elected	8	2,612.62
Leonie Gill	Not elected	8	2,300.92
Rob Goulden	Not elected	6	1,196.10
John Coleman	Not elected	5	846.00
Karunanidhi Muthu	Not elected	4	633.00
Va'Ai Va'A Potoi	Not elected	3	337.00
Graham Mccready	Not elected	2	235.00
Peter Kennedy	Not elected	1	159.00

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,547.1. There were 78 informal votes and 338 blank votes.

Southern Ward (2 vacancies)		Iteration	Votes
Paul Eagle	Elected	1	3,609.00
David Lee	Elected	7	2,311.59
Ginette McDonald	Not elected	7	2,221.41
Bryan Robert Pepperell	Not elected	5	953.99
Will Moore	Not elected	4	608.47
Brent Pierson	Not elected	3	408.48
Don McDonald	Not elected	2	137.83

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 2,275.64. There were 26 informal votes and 223 blank votes.

Tawa Community Board (6 vacancies)		Iteration	Votes
Margaret Lucas	Elected	1	899.00
Graeme Mark Hansen	Elected	1	878.00
Robert Tredger	Elected	1	788.00
Alistair Sutton	Elected	2	706.44
Richard Herbert	Elected	3	625.18
Jack Marshall	Elected	7	537.01
Sally Dunbar	Not elected	7	475.29

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 534.41. There were 7 informal votes and 187 blank votes.

The voter return was 40.85%, being 55,716 voting papers, excluding special votes.

Charlie Inggs Electoral Officer Wellington City Council 12 October 2013