3.3 Infrastructure Committee – Pūroro Waihanga

Chair	Cr Sean Rush
Deputy Chair	Cr Jenny Condie
Membership	Mayor and all Councillors
External Membership	Liz Kelly representing Ngāti Toa Rangatira
	One representative of Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika nominated by the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust and appointed by Council
Quorum	8
Frequency of meeting	Monthly

Area of focus

- 1. The Infrastructure Committee has the following responsibilities:
 - a. Council Infrastructure and infrastructure strategy, including:
 - (i) Transport,
 - (ii) Waste,
 - (iii) Water (three waters)
 - (iv) Council property (buildings)
 - (v) Relationships with other non-council infrastructure
 - b. The Road Corridor
 - c. 30-year infrastructure strategy
 - d. Asset management plans
 - e. Capital Works Programme Delivery, including CCO's and Wellington Water Limited's capital works programmes
 - f. Three waters reform
- 2. The Committee has the responsibility to discuss and approve a forward agenda.

Delegations

General

3. The Committee has the powers necessary to perform its responsibilities, within the approved Long-term Plan and Annual Plan budgets.

Strategy, policy, and plans

- 4. Develop and approve strategy and policy within its area of focus and monitor and review these strategies and policies.
- 5. Review and approve asset management plans.

Service levels

6. Recommend service level changes and new initiatives to the Long-term and Annual Plans Committee as part of the Long-term and Annual Plan processes.

Significant Projects & Monitoring and reporting

- 7. Review and approve business cases and approve next steps for significant projects within the capital works programme.
- 8. Monitor and provide oversight for significant projects within its area of focus.

Consultation and engagement

- 9. Conduct any consultation processes required on issues before the Committee that are within its Area of Focus.
- 10. Act as a community interface for consultation on policies and as a forum for engaging effectively for issues that are within its area of focus.

Submissions and legislation

- 11. Approve submissions to external bodies/organisations and on legislation and regulatory proposals that are within its Area of Focus except :
 - (g) If there is insufficient time for the matter to be determined by the Committee before the submission 'close date', in which case the submission can be agreed by the relevant Committee Chair, Deputy Chair, Mayor and Chief Executive (and all Councillors must be advised of the submission and provided copies if requested).
 - (h) If the submission is of a technical and operational nature, in which case the submission can be approved by the Chief Executive (in consultation with the relevant Committee Chair prior to lodging the submission).
 - (i) During the formal pre-election period, in which case submissions are approved by the Chief Executive.

Bylaws

- 12. Develop and approve the statement of proposal for new or amended bylaws for consultation within its area of focus.
- 13. Recommend to Council new or amended bylaws for adoption within its area of focus.

Naming

14. In accordance with the Naming Policy, making significant naming decisions within its area of focus.

Other

- 15. Consider and make decisions which are within the Chief Executive's delegations that the Chief Executive has referred to the committee for decision making.
- 16. Recommend to Council the establishment of a subcommittee or working group and approve its terms of reference.
- 17. The committee has the powers to perform the responsibilities of another committee, where it is necessary to make a decision prior to the next meeting of that other committee.