

REPORT 2 (1215/11/IM)

COMMITTEE STRUCTURE, CHAIRPERSONS AND MEMBERSHIP

1. Executive Summary

Section 41A of the Local Government 2002 provides for the Mayor to establish the committees of the Wellington City Council and appoint chairpersons to those committees.

Mayor Celia Wade-Brown has been developing a committee structure in discussion with councillors. A memorandum on the committee structure, appointment of chairpersons and membership is attached.

2. Recommendation

It is recommended that Council:

1. Receive the memorandum on committee structure, chairpersons and membership.

MEMORANDUM

Date: Thursday 24 October 2013

To: Council

From: Her Worship the Mayor

Subject: Committee Structure, Chairpersons and Membership

This memorandum provides a broad overview of the governance and decision making structures for the Wellington City Council for the 2013 – 2016 triennium. The structure is designed to be inclusive at both a political and community level and facilitates quality decision making.

The governance structure is comprised of Council and five subject based committees:

| Committee | Chairperson | Portfolio Leaders | Membership |
|-------------------------------------|--|---|---|
| Governance Finance and Planning | Deputy Mayor, Justin Lester | | Mayor and all Councillors |
| Economic Growth and Arts | Cr Jo Coughlan Deputy Chairperson Cr Simon Marsh | Arts Cr Ray Ahipene Mercer Small Medium Enterprise and Tertiary Liaison Cr Simon Marsh | Cr Ahipene-Mercer Cr Coughlan Cr Eagle Cr Lester Cr Marsh Cr Peck Cr Young |
| Community, Sports and Recreation | Cr Paul Eagle | Community Resilience Cr Malcolm Sparrow | Cr Eagle Cr Free Cr Marsh Cr Peck Cr Ritchie Cr Sparrow Cr Woolf |
| Environment | Cr Iona Pannett | Climate Change Cr David Lee Natural Environment Cr Helene Ritchie | Cr Ahipene-Mercer Cr Foster Cr Free Cr Lee Cr Pannett Cr Ritchie Cr Sparrow |
| Transport and Urban Development | Cr Andy Foster | Buildings Cr Iona Pannett Central City Projects Cr Nicola Young | Cr Coughlan Cr Foster Cr Lee Cr Lester Cr Pannett Cr Young Cr Woolf |

Other Committees

| Committee | Chairperson | Membership |
|------------------------------|----------------------------|--|
| Regulatory Processes | Cr Ray Ahipene-Mercer | Cr Ahipene-Mercer Cr Foster Cr Lee Cr Pannett Cr Sparrow |
| Performance Review Committee | Deputy Mayor Justin Lester | Cr Coughlan Cr Lester Cr Marsh Cr Peck |
| Audit and Risk Subcommittee | Cr Mark Peck | Cr Peck Cr Marsh Cr Woolf Two external members |

The Mayor is an ex officio member of every committee and subcommittee, other than a quasi-judicial committee.

The governance and decision making structure takes the following key principles into consideration:

- Inclusiveness of councillors
- Efficiency of decision making
- Strategic and integrated decision making
- Informed decision making
- Decision taken once
- Public participation
- Open
- Transparency
- Accountable

The Council structure ensures that elected members are empowered to maximise their contribution to advancing the growth and well-being of Wellington. It is designed to ensure that decisions are made as decisively as possible while ensuring that every decision is well informed by our communities.

Delegations

The formal terms of reference and delegations on which the structure will be based will be considered at the 14 November 2013 meeting of Council. Other Councillor appointments - to Boards, Trusts and Advisory Groups - will also be considered at that meeting, as will the external appointments to the Audit and Risk Subcommittee.

Blian

Celia Wade-Brown Mayor of Wellington