

REPORT 7 (1215/11/IM)

Report of the Strategy and Policy Committee Meeting of Thursday 15 June 2006

Members: Mayor Prendergast, Councillors Armstrong (Chair), Ahipene-Mercer, Cook, Foster, Gill, Goulden, McKinnon, Morrison, Pepperell, Ritchie, Ruben, Shaw, Wade-Brown and Wain.

THE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS:

1. **ITEM 137/06C 2006 REPRESENTATION REVIEW** (1215/52/IM) (1225/07/06/IM) (REPORT 6)

THAT Council:

- 1. Agree that the members of the Wellington City Council (other than the Mayor) be elected under the ward system for the 2007 local authority elections.
- 2. Agree that the city be divided into five wards for electoral purposes and that the names of those wards and the suburban communities of interest comprised within each of the wards be as follows:

(a) Northern Ward

Comprising Churton Park, Glenside, Grenada North, Grenada Village, Horokiwi, Johnsonville, Newlands, Ohariu, Paparangi, Takapu Valley, Tawa and Woodridge (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Northern Ward Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 - Appendix 1).

(b) Onslow/Western Ward

Comprising Broadmeadows, Crofton Downs, Kaiwharawhara, Karori, Khandallah, Makara, Makara Beach, Ngaio, Ngauranga, Northland, Wadestown and Wilton (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Onslow/Western Ward Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 - Appendix 2).

(c) Lambton Ward

Comprising Aro Valley, Part Brooklyn, Highbury, Kelburn, Mt Cook, Mt Victoria, Oriental Bay, Pipitea, Te Aro, Thorndon and Wellington Central (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Lambton Ward Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 - Appendix 3).

(d) Southern Ward

Comprising Berhampore, Part Brooklyn, Island Bay, Kingston, Mornington, Newtown, Owhiro Bay, and Vogeltown (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Southern Ward Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 - Appendix 4).

(e) Eastern Ward

Comprising Breaker Bay, Hataitai, Houghton Bay, Karaka Bays, Kilbirnie, Lyall Bay, Maupuia, Melrose, Miramar, Moa Point, Rongotai, Roseneath, Seatoun, Southgate and Strathmore Park (the boundaries of which are as shown on the attached Eastern Ward Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 - Appendix 5).

Note

The existing ward boundaries do not satisfy the provisions imposed by section 19V of the Local Electoral Act 2001 which require the Council to ensure that electors of wards receive fair representation. Under the current ward boundaries (and based on the estimated resident population of Wellington City as at 30 June 2005) the electors of the Lambton Ward are under represented on the Council by 13.77% and the electors of the Eastern Ward are over represented by 12.66% (both outside the +/- 10% variance permitted).

The recommendations propose three changes to the current boundaries that will ensure that the "fairness" provisions of the Act are met. The proposal recommends the transfer of Roseneath from the Lambton Ward to the Eastern Ward, Wadestown from the Lambton Ward to the Onslow/Western Ward and Southgate from the Southern Ward to the Eastern Ward. The population that each member will represent under the recommended proposal is as follows:

Ward	Population	Proposed	Ratio	Variance
		Councillors	Population	
			per Councillor	
Northern	42,400	3	1:14,133	- 6.72%
Onslow/Western	40,250	3	1:13,417	- 1.31%
Lambton	40,350	3	1:13,450	- 1.56%
Eastern	37,180	3	1:12,393	+ 6.42%%
Southern	24,920	2	1:12,460	+ 5.91%
Total	185,100	14	1:13,243	

3. Agree that the level of elected members (excluding the Mayor) be retained at 14 and that the distribution of those members between the five wards be as follows:

Northern Ward	3 Councillors
Onslow/Western Ward	3 Councillors
Lambton Ward	3 Councillors
Southern Ward	2 Councillors
Eastern Ward	3 Councillors

- 4. Agree:
 - (a) That, in order to maintain fair and effective representation for individuals and communities as required by sections 19J(1) and 19J(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001,
 - (i) The existing Makara/Ohariu Community be extended to include the rural suburbs of Takapu Valley (excluding the suburban centre in Takapu Road) and Horokiwi (excluding Hutt Road) and that the altered community be named the Wellington Rural Community (the boundaries of which are shown on the attached Wellington Rural Community Board Map dated 28 June 2006 - Appendix 6)

<u>Note:</u>

73% of the people who took part in the" pre-review" consultation that the Council undertook before making this decision, supported the retention of the existing Makara/Ohariu Community Board on the basis that they were a "special" case and needed local advocacy. The Board currently provides Council with expert advice (based on first hand knowledge) on a range of rural issues that would not be available if the Board did not exist. Because of its size (i.e.65 % of the city's total area), its unique characteristics and environmental importance to the city the Council agrees that the rural community need a level of representation within the Council's governance structure. It has been noted that the rural areas of Takapu Valley and Horokiwi also lack rural representation and it is therefore proposed to extend the existing Makara/Ohariu Community to include the rural suburbs of Takapu Valley and Horokiwi. The advantage of this proposal is that almost all rural land in Wellington city would then be under the jurisdiction of one community board, to be named the Wellington Rural Community Board.

(ii) The membership of the Wellington Rural Community Board shall consist of seven elected members and no appointed members. *(iii) The Wellington Rural Community not be subdivided for electoral purposes.*

<u>0r</u>

(in the event it is decided to subdivide the community)

The Wellington Rural Community be subdivided for electoral purposes and that the names and boundaries of the subdivisions be as follows:

- (a) Makara
 (the boundaries of which are shown on the attached Makara Subdivision Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 – Appendix 7)
- (b) Ohariu
 (the boundaries of which are shown on the attached Ohariu Subdivision Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 – Appendix 8)
- (c) Horokiwi/Takapu Valley
 (the boundaries of which are shown on the attached Horokiwi/Takapu Valley Subdivision Boundary Map dated 28 June 2006 – Appendix 9)
- *(iv) The members of the Wellington Rural Community Board be elected by the electors of the community as a whole.*

<u> Or</u>

(in the event it is decided to subdivide the community)

The number of members to be elected by the electors of the respective subdivisions of the Wellington Rural Community Board be as follows:

Makara Subdivision	3 members
Ohariu Subdivision	2 members
Horokiwi/Takapu Valley Subdivision	2 members

(v) The existing Tawa community and the Tawa Community Board be abolished.

Note:

As it is required to do, the Council has carried out a review of community boards to determine whether they are necessary in order to provide fair and effective representation for individuals and communities through out the city. As a result of that review the Council has decided that the establishment of more community boards across the city is not necessary in order to achieve these requirements and is therefore not supported. This view was supported by 73% of those people who took part in the pre-review consultation that the Council undertook prior to making its decision.

While there is strong support for the retention of the existing Makara/Ohariu Community Board (because of its specialised and unique role), the majority view of Council is that, if no more boards are to be established in the city, the retention of the Tawa Community Board cannot be supported on fairness grounds (i.e. the electors of the Tawa Community receive a additional level of representation other urban residents in the city don't receive). That was also the majority view of those people who took part in the pre-review consultation.

Robert Armstrong Chair