Appendix One

20 January 2011

NC 08 01 03

- MEMORANDUM -

TO:All Zone 4 Community Board ChairsFROM:Eugene Bowen, Chief ExecutiveSUBJECT:Elections of NZ Community Boards' Executive Committee's (NZCBEC)
Zone 4 Representative

As more than one nomination was received for the position of the Zone 4 Representative on the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee by the time nominations closed on 15 December 2010, an election is required.

The election will be conducted by postal ballot. Should any matter arise with the election that is not specifically provided for in the Rules, as Returning Officer, I will use my discretion to determine the matter. If there is an equality of votes, as Returning Officer, I will decide which of the candidates is elected by the drawing of lots.

Listed below (alphabetically) are the candidates for the Zone 4 Representative election:

- Gerald Davidson, Petone Community Board
- Helen Keivom, Paekakariki Community Board
- Tui Lewis, Petone Community Board

Listed below is the candidate for the Zone 4 Deputy Representative election:

• Helen Keivom, Community Board

Only one nomination was received for the Zone 4 Deputy Representative position and Ms Helen Kievom has been confirmed in that position. If Ms Kievom is elected to the role of the Zone 4 Representative, this Deputy position will become vacant.

Community Boards in the following Zone 4 authorities are entitled to vote:

Hutt City Council South Wairarapa District Council Kapiti Coast District Council Wellington City Council

Appendix One

The elections are carried out using a preferential voting system provided for in the Rules of Local Government New Zealand (LGNZ). These are the same rules as for the election of the President and Vice President of LGNZ (Rules F4 – F13). A copy is available on the LGNZ website (http://www.lgnz.co.nz/about-us/constitution.html).

In the calculation process, the number of first preferences recorded for each candidate will be counted and any informal/invalid voting papers rejected. If one candidate obtains an absolute majority of votes, that person will be declared elected. If no candidate has an absolute majority of votes, the candidate who has the fewest votes is excluded and each Voting Paper counted to that candidate (unless non-transferable, i.e. if no second preference is recorded) is counted to the unexcluded candidates next in the order of preference. This process is repeated until one candidate has an absolute majority.

Before voting please read this memo and the instructions on your Voting Paper carefully. A*ttached* are brief Curriculum Vitaes as provided by some candidates.

The outcome will be notified as soon as possible after the election. The appointments will take effect on Monday 28 February 2011 and will be effective until their successor assumes office.

Please contact the Returning Officer if you have any queries.

Appendix One

DIRECTIONS FOR VOTING (Read Carefully Before Voting)

- 1. Each Community Board is entitled to exercise two votes. This is made up of one vote for the Representative and one vote for the Deputy, except in Zones where no Deputy has been nominated.
- 2. Mark number "1" in the box next to the name of the candidate who is the Community Board's first preference. Mark further consecutive numbers in descending order of preference, in any, or all of the remaining boxes next to the names of the remaining candidates. e.g. "2" for the Board's second preference. Voting papers marked with a tick or a cross will be deemed invalid.
- 3. The Voting Paper must be signed by the Community Board Chair, or in their absence, by an alternative who has been formally authorised to do so. If using an alternative, a copy of the authority needs to be included with the Voting Paper when it is returned.
- 4. The signed Voting Paper must be **received by** the Returning Officer, or any scrutineers appointed by him, for counting not later than the close of voting at 5.00pm on **Wednesday 23 February 2011**.
- 5. The Voting Paper may be returned by: 1) Electronic mail in .pdf format to <u>chrissy.macdonald@lgnz.co.nz</u> 2) Facsimile to the Returning Officer, LGNZ 04 924 1230. In either instance, the signed original must follow by conventional mail to the *The Returning Officer, LGNZ, P O Box 1214, Wellington 6140*.

VOTING PAPER

ELECTION OF NZCBEC ZONE 4 REPRESENTATIVE 2011		ELECTION OF NZCBEC ZONE 4 DEPUTY REPRESENTATIVE 2011
Gerald Davidson		Helen Keivom Confirmed
Helen Keivom		
Tui Lewis		
Signed: _		
Signatory's Name: _		
Community Board Name: _		