Tawa Community Board by-election

A by-election will be held to fill one extraordinary vacancy on the Tawa Community Board.

The vacancy is a result of Jill Day being elected to the Council. The by-election will be held on Friday 17 February 2017.


Nominations for candidates closed at 12 noon on 22 December 2016.

A total of five nominations were received from:

  • Anna Scott
  • Craig Robertson
  • Damian Hewett
  • Liz Langham
  • Stacey Richardson

Election details

The election will be conducted by postal voting under the Single Transferable Vote (STV) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers. 

Voting opens Thursday 26 January 2017 and close at 12 noon Friday 17 February.

Learn more about STV: Elections - Electoral systems

Electoral rolls

Electors can enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

  • calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
  • visiting Elections - Enrol, check or update now
  • filling out an enrolment form available at Tawa or Wellington Central libraries, or the Service Centre, City Council office, 101 Wakefield Street, Wellington.