Below were the confirmed candidates for the 2013 local body elections.

To view the candidates' official profiles, click on their names below.



List of Candidates (38KB PDF)

For more information about the candidates, including those who stood throughout the country, see:  


Rob Goulden 
John Morrison 
Karunanidhi Muthu
Celia Wade-Brown 
Jack Yan 
Nicola Young

Councillor - Eastern Ward

Electing three Councillors
Ray Ahipene-Mercer
John Coleman
Sarah Free
Leonie Gill
Rob Goulden
Peter Kennedy
Simon Swampy Marsh
Graham McCready
Karunanidhi Muthu
Va'ai Va'a Potoi 

Councillor - Lambton Ward

Electing three Councillors
Michael Appleby
John Dow
Milton Hollard
Rex Nicholls
Iona Katherine Mary Pannett
Mark Peck
Stephen Preston
Jennifer Gwilliam Stephen
Mark Wilson
John Woolf
Nicola Young 

Councillor - Northern Ward

Electing three Councillors
Reagan Cutting
Peter Gilberd
Justin Lester
Helene Ritchie
Malcolm Sparrow
Jacob Toner 

Councillor - Onslow-Western Ward

Electing three Councillors
Malcolm Aitken

Dan Coffey
Jo Coughlan
Sridhar Ekambaram
Andy Foster
Gill Holmes
Phil Howison
Arie Ketel
Emma MacRae
Hayley Robinson
Martin Wilson
Simon Woolf 

Councillor - Southern Ward

Electing two Councillors
Paul Eagle
David Lee
Don McDonald
Ginette McDonald
Will Moore
Brent Pierson 
Bryan Robert Pepperell

Makara - Ohariu Community Board

There will be no election as there are only six candidates, who have been elected unopposed.
Murrary Burdan
Christine Grace
Judy Liddell
Wayne Rudd
Margie Scotts
Hamish Todd 

Tawa Community Board

Electing six members
Sally Dunbar
Graeme Mark Hansen
Richard Herbert
Margaret Lucas
Jack Marshall
Alistair Sutton
Robert Tredger 

Capital and Coast District Health Board

Electing seven members
Judith Aitken
Marianne Bishop
Grant Brookes
David Carter
Camilia Chin
David Choat
Allie Crombie
Sally Dunbar
Russell Franklin
John Hayes
Virginia Hope
Keith Johnson
Sue Kedgley
Chris Laidlaw
Nick Leggett
Chris Lipscombe
Ian Murphy
Kiri Rikihana
Helene Ritchie
Tony Simpson
David Talbot
Megan Williams
Nigel Wilson