ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE



MINUTES

MONDAY 4 AUGUST 2014

9.19am – 10.49am, 10.57am – 11.44am

Committee Room One Ground Floor, Council Offices 101 Wakefield St Wellington

PRESENT:

Councillor Pannett (Chair) 9.19am – 10.49am, 10.57am – 11.44am

Councillor Foster 10.58am – 11.44am

 Councillor Free
 9.19am - 10.49am, 10.57am - 11.44am

 Councillor Lee
 9.19am - 10.49am, 10.57am - 11.44am

 Councillor Ritchie
 9.19am - 10.49am, 10.57am - 11.44am

 Councillor Sparrow
 9.19am - 10.49am, 10.57am - 11.44am

APOLOGIES:

Mayor Wade-Brown Councillor Ahipene-Mercer

IN ATTENDANCE:

Councillor Peck

APOLOGIES

Moved Councillor Pannett, seconded Councillor Sparrow, the motion that the Environment Committee receive apologies for absence from Mayor Wade-Brown and Councillor Ahipene-Mercer and apologies for lateness from Councillor Foster.

CARRIED.

RESOLVED:

THAT the Environment Committee:

1. Receive apologies for absence from Mayor Wade-Brown and Councillor Ahipene-Mercer and apologies for lateness from Councillor Foster.

ORAL HEARINGS – DRAFT BOTANIC GARDENS OF WELLINGTON MANAGEMENT PLAN

Report of Mike Oates – Manager, Open Space and Recreation Planning (REPORT 1)

- 1. Rosamund Averton (submission number 8) addressed the Committee in support of her submission.
- 2. Priscilla Williams, representing Friends of the Bolton Street Memorial Park (submission number 10) addressed the Committee in support of the Friends' submission.
- 3. Cathy Wylie, Phil Parnell and Wilbur Dovey, representing Otari-Wilton's Bush Trust (submission number 14), addressed the Committee in support of the Trust's submission.
- 4. Bev Abbott, representing Wellington Botanical Society (submission number 15), addressed the Committee in support of the Society's submission.
- 5. Phil Tomlinson, representing Friends of the Wellington Botanic Gardens (submission number 16) addressed the Committee in support of the Friends' submission.
- 6. Sarah Soligo (submission number 5) addressed the Committee in support of her submission.

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE A)

7. Sloane Bayley, Isabella C, Sally, Sophie and Isabella K, representing Kelburn Normal School (submission number 12) addressed the Committee in support of the School's submission.

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE B)

8. Dr Margaret Gordon (submission number 25) addressed the Committee in support of her submission

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE C)

9. Eleanor Meecham, on behalf of Andy Gow, representing Cycle Aware Welington (submission number 24) addressed the Committee in support of Cycle Aware's submission.

(The meeting adjourned for morning tea at 10.49am and reconvened at 10.57am). (Councillors Free, Ritchie, Pannett, Lee, and Sparrow were present when the meeting reconvened).

(Councillor Foster arrived at the meeting at 10.58am).

- 10. Jillian Kennemore, on behalf of Ann Neil, representing Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga (submission number 27) addressed the Committee in support of Heritage New Zealand's submission.
- 11. Nick Jennings, Alex Greig, Neil Meekin, John Warren, Delia Shanly and Robert Rapson, representing Truby King House and Garden Trust (submission number 26) addressed the Committee in support of the Trust's submission.

(TABLED INFORMATION - REFERENCE D)

- 12. John Daniels and Priscilla Williams, representing Historic Places Wellington (submission number 17) address the Committee in support of Historic Place's submission.
- 13. Barbara Mitcalfe and J Chris Horne (submission number 21) addressed the Committee in support of their submission.

Moved Councillor Pannett, seconded Councillor Free, the substantive motion. <u>CARRIED</u>.

RESOLVED:

THAT the Environment Committed	e:
--------------------------------	----

1. Receive the oral submissions.
The meeting concluded at 11.44pm.
Confirmed: Chair